Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2013, 12:36 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
What I have does plug into the camper and the generator as I already have the pigtail you show. As I put the generator next to the unit (about 2 feet away) I would like to do as ependydad mentioned with a heavy duty (but short) cord and save hauling the big cord around. Also the pigtail would fit in the tool box on the unit, so when the kid uses the trailer and forgets the big cord (like he did last year), he'll have another option.
__________________

__________________
dward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:39 PM   #12
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post

I believe your correct or that is my assumtion as well.

What I'm not sure about is, why what he has won't plug into camper .
Other than the obvious tab turned wrong.

Hmmmm
Boat 30amp vs. RV 30amp maybe? Really weird...

I'd try to send that back to eBay, that's for sure!
__________________

__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:40 PM   #13
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,779
I know Home Depot sells the 50 amp version on their site. I'd like to get that and another 12 gauge extension cord so I don't have to haul my expensive 50 amp cord out along the sidewalk at home...
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 01:48 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
I had my son send a picture of the plugs (one I bought and the one on the heavy cord I have) and it refreshed my memory as I haven't used the trailer for a while. As you can see the plug is listed as a 50 amp plug which I'm guessing is why the cord is so heavy. And as I remember this cord/plug has two separate 110 volt leads with one neutral and the ground is on the outside of the plug. So this plug could service 220 volts.

The trailer has a microwave and air conditioner............is this the standard plug and cord that comes with the trailers you guys have??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Plug.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	32425  
__________________
dward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:27 PM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by dward View Post
I had my son send a picture of the plugs (one I bought and the one on the heavy cord I have) and it refreshed my memory as I haven't used the trailer for a while. As you can see the plug is listed as a 50 amp plug which I'm guessing is why the cord is so heavy. And as I remember this cord/plug has two separate 110 volt leads with one neutral and the ground is on the outside of the plug. So this plug could service 220 volts.

The trailer has a microwave and air conditioner............is this the standard plug and cord that comes with the trailers you guys have??
Makes sense now.

Your camper is 50 amp 110
The adapter you bought is 30 amp 110
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 03:16 PM   #16
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,779
I think this is what you want:

Home Depot link for 15 amp male to 50 amp female with locking ring
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 03:31 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
Here's what I need. I can use the other plug for my boat.

Thanks for all the replies.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	50 amp plug.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	32451  
__________________
dward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 03:34 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
I posted my post/picture before I read your post ependydad. And I'm glad I didn't buy the one I found as the one you posted is about $20 cheaper!

I owe you a beer!!

Thanks
__________________
dward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 05:29 PM   #19
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by dward View Post
I posted my post/picture before I read your post ependydad. And I'm glad I didn't buy the one I found as the one you posted is about $20 cheaper!

I owe you a beer!!

Thanks
Who would have ever guessed that it was Home Depot of all places?! I really want to buy one to save me from dealing with my 50amp cord when at home. Means that I have to pony up and buy another fifty-foot 10 or 12 gauge extension cord.
__________________

__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 AM.