Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2013, 02:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Orland Park, IL
Posts: 372
Adding a 30 amp RV outlet in my garage

I have an old style 30 amp dryer outlet in my laundry room adjacent to my garage that I would like to use to power an RV outlet in an existing box in my garage. My house is all conduit and there is an existing conduit between these two outlets.

When I pulled the dryer outlet, it is wired using the old standard of two black hots and a white neutral wire. The hot wires are 10 or 8 gauge but the neutral is a 14 gauge wire. For a 30 amp RV outlet I believe the neutral should be the same gauge as the hot. What I would like to do is use one of the hot wires as a neutral back to the panel.

At the panel, I will replace the double pole breaker with a 30 amp breaker and move the unused hot wire to the neutral bus taped with white tape to indicate it is a neutral wire.

Back at the dryer outlet I want to pull an 8 gauge hot and neutral from this outlet to the outlet in the garage where I will be installing the 30 amp RV outlet. The wires hot and neutral (former hot taped white) will be spliced at the dryer outlet with the new wires from the garage.

Cover plate at the dryer location and wire the RV outlet in the garage and I should be done. The conduit will serve as a ground for the circuit. I have not seen anything exactly like this when searching the forum.

Does this make since to retrofit a 30 amp RV outlet in my garage?

2015 Rockwood Roo 23IKSS
2015 GMC Sierra 1500
Archicamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 02:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
jtstromsburg's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Stromsburg, Nebraska
Posts: 1,579
Sounds about right to me, but I think you'll still want more than 14g for a ground as well. I'm sure others will chime in with more knowledge and existence then me though.
Good luck

Joel and Teresa
2016 Sabre 34TBOK
2006 GMC 3500 CC LB DRW 4X4
jtstromsburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 02:58 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
TURBS's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,205
personally I would match the ground to the other wires but thats just me.

TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 03:32 PM   #4
Steve & Phyllis
SteveBingham52's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Simpsonville SC
Posts: 207
If I understand you mean to use the conduit as the ground with no actual ground wire pulled? Major infraction and unsafe. Conduit is grounded yes but should not be used as the main current return. Violates both NEC and NFPA codes. Not a problem if you don't have a problem but if you do and inspector finds it insurance is no longer responsible.
SteveBingham52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 03:57 PM   #5
Old Enough to Know Better
gasman6674's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Greenwood, In
Posts: 418
If its all conduit just pull the proper ground. I would pull a neutral too but thats just me.
Jim & Debbie England
Do you have Gas? 2015 F350 6.2L CCLB DRW 4.30 axle. 2012 Yellowstone Ridgeline 34RLT Fifth Wheel
gasman6674 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 03:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Orland Park, IL
Posts: 372
I believe that NEC allows EMT conduit to be used as a ground with metal boxes. There is a hot and neutral wire in the conduit. Not saying that a separate ground wire is bad idea but, my whole house was wired by a union electrician with EMT conduit without any ground wires in the conduit.
2015 Rockwood Roo 23IKSS
2015 GMC Sierra 1500
Archicamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 04:17 PM   #7
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 88
I'd pull a ground wire, too. If the conduit were to break at a joint or in some other way lose connection somewhere between your box and the breaker panel it could be lights out for you or one of your loved ones if you have a wiring problem or short with the TT.
2012 Palomino Sabre 32BHTS
2008 GMC Sierra 2500 SLE 4x4 Duramax
clange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 05:44 PM   #8
Senior Member
rockin'ray's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 124
I am not up to date on electrical code, but i would not think it would pass for the simple reason that if you get a break in the conduit or take a piece out of that run, then you lose the ground path back to the panel. In Canada you once used to be able to ground your panel to the nearest cold water line in your house as long as you put a jump wire across any water meter. They since changed this becaue a break in the line and you lost al grounding for your panel and you have to run a solid line to the service side of your water meter. I would run a separate ground conductor as well.
2013 Wildwood 29BHBS
2009 Toyota Tacoma
The crew;
Tally the Greyhound and Itty the Chihuahua
rockin'ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 06:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
VinceU's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,200
From the Wik, many local codes require a ground same as conductors

Conductors installed within conduit cannot dissipate heat as readily as those installed in open wiring, so the current capacity of each conductor must be reduced if many are installed in one conduit. It is impractical, and prohibited by wiring regulations, to have more than 360 degrees of total bends in a run of conduit, so special outlet fittings must be provided to allow conductors to be installed without damage in such runs. Some types of metal conduit offer a useful bonding conductor for grounding (earthing), but wiring regulations may also dictate workmanship standards or supplemental means of grounding for certain types. While metal conduit can be used as a grounding conductor, the circuit length is limited. A long run of conduit as grounding conductor will not allow proper operation of overcurrent devices on a fault, for example.
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 07:17 PM   #10
Site Team
wmtire's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 11,060
The following oft-quoted website has a plethora (Love an opportunity to use that word) of information on RV related electrical situations.

RV Electric

You can peruse around the website at your leisure.

I would definitely check the "ground wire on appliance service" link that is on the left hand side of the main page of the above link. It gives some interesting history (if factual) on the subject.

2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I've just ordered a chicken and an egg from Amazon.... I will keep you posted.
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.