Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2014, 12:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
Question Adding outlet and/or breaker

All of my outlets are one one circuit so running a space heater plus any other appliance can cause issues.

I have a couple of questions.

Can I somehow jumper off of the air conditioner circuit and add an outlet right by the circuit breaker box? That would allow me to run a heater off of that circuit since the ac and a heater would never be run at the same time.

Also, I have what looks to be one space available to add another circuit breaker. Can someone tell me how to do that or give me a link to a video or written instructions specific to RV? I haven't been able to find anything good.

Which would be the better option or can I do both?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2014 Rockwood 2304S
2011 Nissan Titan
jtintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 12:19 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
I would use the empty space and add another breaker.
Remove front panel of distribution center to see better.
Basically snap in the new breaker.
Black wire goes to breaker terminal.
White goes to buss bar with all the other whites.
Green wire either goes to the buss bar and or to a seperate grounding strip.
Wire your outlet just like at home.

Done

TURBS

dog wisperer
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 12:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 204
Turbs got it right use the new breaker. Plan your work according so you are not using an extension cord for your heater please!

Good Luck!
__________________
David 01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 12:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
Umm, I've never wired an outlet...I've seen it done from a junction box but never did it myself. Do you run wire from the outlet directly to the circuit breaker?
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2014 Rockwood 2304S
2011 Nissan Titan
jtintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 12:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 204
Same principal just leaving out the middle man as it were. You can use the junction box if you wanted to tie in multiple outlets, but if you are using one dedicated outlet then the junction box is not necessary. I would also suggest using a GFI outlet, it's not necessary unless it's by a wet location, but since its camping....

If you are not comfortable doing this project, DON'T DO IT! SEEK PROFESSIONAL HELP!
__________________
David 01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 04:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
Thanks for replying. I finally found a video that helped. I guess the main thing is to make sure I use the right type of breaker switch and wire.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2014 Rockwood 2304S
2011 Nissan Titan
jtintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 04:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
kerrlakelover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 480
If you are going to put your receptacle close to the circuit box you will not need a junction box. Go to Lowes and ask the guy in the electrical department to show you a single gang "old work" electrical box. Tell him what you are doing and if he has been around any time at all, he can fix you up with everything you need. The old work box has wings on it that will tighten up and hold the box in the hole in the wall. Then you put the breaker in, run the new wire from the panel over to the new old work box, wire up the receptacle and let'er rip. It's not rocket science. But, like David 01 said, if don't feel confident...get some professional electrical help.
__________________
North Carolina born and bred
2010 Sandpiper 345RET
2011 2500 Duramax Silverado
2001 Centurion Elite Bowrider direct drive
"Old water skier"
Jesus Christ my Saviour
kerrlakelover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 07:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
Thanks kerrlakelover...I didn't know about the different kind of boxes.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2014 Rockwood 2304S
2011 Nissan Titan
jtintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 10:04 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
I have the same issue but I don't have an extra space available for a breaker. Can I just add another outlet and connect it to the A/C breaker? Why wouldn't they do this in the first place since you don't always use the A/C and could use it for something that draws a lot of amps?
__________________

__________________
rsnetid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.