Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2014, 10:50 AM   #11
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyjellywhite View Post
I would totally be ok with paying a $150 to get this how I want it, considering what I have invested in it. Time to try to find some gen guys in the yellow pages I guess.
Check with big electrical contractors whom specialize in generators "sales and service".





TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 11:07 AM   #12
Kyjellywhite
 
kyjellywhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marysville, CA
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cypressloser View Post
To me this looks like a regular twist lock receptacle (page 8 in your manual), you should be able to find an adapter at RV dealerships or online.
Or am I missing something?



Obviously that manual is full of crap because these are my actual receptacles. The 25A is for 250v
__________________

__________________
kyjellywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 11:16 AM   #13
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyjellywhite View Post


Obviously that manual is full of crap because these are my actual receptacles. The 25A is for 250v
But wait.
You have a 25 amp 120 v three Prong outlet .

In fact the adapter fordidaho pictured won't work.


Edit
You need a three Prong adapter for the 120v 25 amp.



TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 11:18 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyjellywhite View Post


Obviously that manual is full of crap because these are my actual receptacles. The 25A is for 250v
Ok, that's a bummer.
__________________
2013 RAM 3500 Dually Longhorn traded in
2018 RAM 5500 in the pipe
Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar, 6x6 Volt Battery Bank, Freedom SW 3012 Inv/Charger
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 11:23 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,840
My set up.




As I said works great.






__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 11:30 AM   #16
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford Idaho View Post



As I said works great.






Yes your's is / was like mine.
4 Prong 240/120 30 amp.
But that 30 amp is rated only at 240 v
With the floating neutral.
You've got around 15 amps while using the 120 side.

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 11:38 AM   #17
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Ford Idaho what gennie is that?

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 11:39 AM   #18
Kyjellywhite
 
kyjellywhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Marysville, CA
Posts: 13
What's got me stumped is the three prong twist receptacle is in the "120" box but if you look close and read the receptacle it says "250". Guess I need to put a meter on it to see what is actually coming out.
__________________
kyjellywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 11:46 AM   #19
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyjellywhite View Post
What's got me stumped is the three prong twist receptacle is in the "120" box but if you look close and read the receptacle it says "250". Guess I need to put a meter on it to see what is actually coming out.
In order for it to be 250v it would need "4" plugs.

Hot
Hot
Neutral
Ground

It only has 3
Hot
Neutral
Ground
As shown in the diagram post on page 8 of manual.

That plug you have is a rarity on most gennies.
While good your limited to 25 amps.
I'll post a handy chart so you can see what you can run and not run at the same time.
Remember your converter is a constant draw no matter what so those amps come off the top before any other 110 electrical device is used.

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 11:49 AM   #20
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
normal appliance amp draws


Look here

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.