Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2014, 08:22 AM   #11
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChooChooMan74 View Post
Add one note to what Herk said. I was working on my friends recently purchased 2000 Coleman Pup. I had to pull apart his power center, due to no 12 volts (converter fried). Comes to find out, his power center/converter, which is not made any longer, did NOT have a main breaker. He had a 20 amp breaker for his AC and a 15 amp for his converter and plugs. If he uses an adapter, he could pull 35 amps. On a setup like this, I would not recommend a 50 to 30.

I myself carry one, and use it when I can.
Are you sure the 20 amp breaker was not his "main"?

Pup's sometimes use the 20 amp as the main and that is where the shore power connection is attached to feed the 15 amp circuit(s).
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 08:28 AM   #12
Engineer of Crazy Train
 
ChooChooMan74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 1,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herk7769 View Post
Are you sure the 20 amp breaker was not his "main"?

Pup's sometimes use the 20 amp as the main and that is where the shore power connection is attached to feed the 15 amp circuit(s).
100% sure. I should have taken pictures. But the 30 amp cord went right to the bus bar. He had a blank on the left side where another circuit could be added and a dual 20amp/15amp breaker. 15 amp side went to his converter and plugs. The 20 amp side went to a 20 amp plug where his AC would plug into.

Now, thinking about it, next time I work on it, I may make it safer and add a 30 amp circuit breaker to the blank, and wire the cord to that breaker.

EDIT:

This picture is not his in his camper, but I found online from the info I had in TXT messages. It is a Centurion CS 2000 and this is exactly how it was wired.

__________________

__________________
TV - 2015 Ram Truck EcoDiesel
TV - 2006 Jeep Liberty Turbo Diesel (Retired to Daily Driver)
TT - 2015 Rockwood Roo 183
Locomotive Engineer
Nights Camping --- 2015 - 19 Camped | Winterized -- 2014 -18
Come read my Camping Blogs
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 09:10 AM   #13
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
<shakes head in disgust>
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HomerFacePalm.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	46.0 KB
ID:	54488  
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 03:40 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
KDHfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 964
Another Surge Protector Question

Herk... So if I'm reading correctly, you're saying that a set-up of... 50amp-to-30amp pigtail ---> Then my surge protector ---> Then my RV power cord going directly to the camper, should be ok. But if I throw in a 25', 30amp extension cord into the mix, that it could lead to problems?
__________________
2015 Coachmen Apex 288BHS
2014 Toyota Tundra CrewMax 5.7L
KDHfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 07:11 PM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDHfan View Post
Herk... So if I'm reading correctly, you're saying that a set-up of... 50amp-to-30amp pigtail ---> Then my surge protector ---> Then my RV power cord going directly to the camper, should be ok. But if I throw in a 25', 30amp extension cord into the mix, that it could lead to problems?
What I am saying is that your equipment is rated to 30 amps.

Connecting to a source that won't complain until it hits 50 amps leads you into "no man's land" between the source and your first 30 amp protection.

If you hang your power protector right after the pigtail, you should be OK since the power protector should have a 30 amp breaker in it.

If it does not, then everything between the 50 amp source and the first 30 amp current limiter could be subject to a "potential" current higher than 30 amps without anything tripping.

As an example, say you are using a 25 foot 30 amp extension cord to connect to your 50 amp pigtail and the junction between the camper cord and extension is laying in the grass. Then it rains and the junction gets wet. A high resistance short occurs at the pins due to the water.

The current being carried by the extension cord and pigtail could easily exceed 30 amps without the camper's main tripping (because as far as it is concerned the amperage is less than 30) and as long as the resistance short draws less than 50 amps, power will continue to flow.

At the junction, the temperature will increase until it melts the junction (causing a full short) or until it ruins the cord.

Just saying that "routinely" using the 50 amp socket via pigtail carries risks that you might not be aware of. Now, if the choice is taking that risk or no power; then "roll dem bones" and plug in. I certainly would.

Just saying you need to keep an eye on things and feel the wires for heat every once in a while. Might save you from replacing an expensive cord set.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 07:37 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
KDHfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 964
Gotcha. Thanks.
My initial thought is if I pull in and there's something wrong, or goes wrong, with the 30amp, I could just jump over and try the 50amp before asking to move sites.
__________________
2015 Coachmen Apex 288BHS
2014 Toyota Tundra CrewMax 5.7L
KDHfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 07:45 PM   #17
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDHfan View Post
Gotcha. Thanks.
My initial thought is if I pull in and there's something wrong, or goes wrong, with the 30amp, I could just jump over and try the 50amp before asking to move sites.
Yep, I do it all the time. I damaged my socket at the camper by not watching out for the overload when I used the 50 amp socket a a campground experiencing low voltage.

I had my Franks Auto-transformer boosting away and my AC was the only one running. When we broke camp, I had trouble unplugging my cord from the camper and noticed the tips of my socket blades were burned. Now there is an incoming ammeter where I only had a volt meter previously.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1369.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	239.6 KB
ID:	54537  
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 08:18 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Whereever our Berkshire is Parked!
Posts: 6,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDHfan View Post
I received my Progressive Industries EMS-PT30C today. I had an assumption that I think now is a good time to verify...
There have been a few times I've arrived at a campground only to find the 30amp service plug a little questionable and/or "used"... So I pull out my 50-to-30amp converter and plug into the 50amp service.
So my first question... Is there any advantage/disadvantage to doing this?
The question on my assumption... Will I be able to plug my 50-to-30amp converter into the pedestal, then plug my EMS into the converter, and finally my 30amp power cord into the EMS? Disadvantages/concerns to doing this?
I actually called Progressive about this - I was a "Camp Manager" on a somewhat sketchy RV camp the non-profit I belong to was using. I was concerned about the power being provided at the plugs. We had both 50 (me) and 30(some) and even 110V hookups using the CG power. Progressive told me that my portable 50AMP unit would check all three using adapter plugs. Worked great!! AND I was the CG hero for making sure all the power was safe for folks (who did not have the Progressive Power Manager godliness unit )
__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 242014 - 422015 - 56Jul 2016 - Fulltime
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 08:33 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herk7769 View Post
Yep, I do it all the time. I damaged my socket at the camper by not watching out for the overload when I used the 50 amp socket a a campground experiencing low voltage.

I had my Franks Auto-transformer boosting away and my AC was the only one running. When we broke camp, I had trouble unplugging my cord from the camper and noticed the tips of my socket blades were burned. Now there is an incoming ammeter where I only had a volt meter previously.
Oh boy, you're making me curious (jealous).
It looks like your trailer is wired for 30 Amp, for a 50 Amp setup would you need two separate Volt/Amp meters?
__________________
2013 RAM 3500 Dually Longhorn traded in
2018 RAM 5500 in the pipe
Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar, 6x6 Volt Battery Bank, Freedom SW 3012 Inv/Charger
Cypressloser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 08:57 PM   #20
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cypressloser View Post
Oh boy, you're making me curious (jealous).
It looks like your trailer is wired for 30 Amp, for a 50 Amp setup would you need two separate Volt/Amp meters?
Yes. one for each leg. The 50 amp Franks Unit is actually a pair of Auto-transformers in one box. Each leg is boosted, or not, independently.
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.