Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-23-2014, 11:26 PM   #1

Are my house batteries shot?

Looking for a little knowledge and assistance from you experts around here, so please chime in if you can educate a newbie here! I have had our Class C Sunseeker plugged in to shore power for the last week here at home. It has two 12-volt deep cycle batteries connected together (Positive-to-positive-to-house, negative-to-negative-to-house). It has sat idle for the last week, no use, nothing but the frige running inside. I unplugged it today for about a half hour to let the batteries rest, then put the multi-meter on both batteries (without disconnecting from each other) and they both fluctuate between 12.1 and 12.13 volts. The batteries look pretty new but I don't know the exact age. When plugged in to shore power the batteries actually read closer to 12.3 or 12.4, but when unplugged and allowed to rest they read 12.1 to 12.13.

Question 1 - From what I've read online, a 12-volt battery should have a resting voltage of around 12.4, and a reading of 12.1 means they are about 50% spent. Is that understanding correct?

Question 2 - When plugged in to shore power, do the house batteries charge back up as well or does the RV need to actually be running (driving down the road) to recharge?

Question 3 - The batteries are the maintenance free type. If they aren't able to go higher than 12.1 volts after being plugged in to shore power for an entire week, do they need to be replaced or is there something I can do to bring the charging capacity back up to the 12.4 level (i.e. add distilled water)?

Thanks in advance for any help you vets can provide to the new guy around here. I greatly appreciate it!

Scott
treeguy100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 05:39 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by treeguy100 View Post