Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2013, 11:54 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Battery

Will a bad battery cause lights to dim and ac t stat problem even though I am hooked up to electric power?
__________________

__________________
Joe William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:02 AM   #2
PPST OGCDG
 
Frank-VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Between I-95 & The Great Dismal Swamp
Posts: 2,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe William View Post
Will a bad battery cause lights to dim and ac t stat problem even though I am hooked up to electric power?
Yes and also converter will cause a problem. The AC T Stat uses 12 volt.
I had all three changed out this summer. {AC T Stat, Converter and Battery.}
__________________

__________________
Frank- VA {:-{)
2004 4x4 Ford 6.0 PS, SCC, SB
2005 Wildcat 29 RLBS
Frank-VA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:45 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 165
Easy way to find out is to disconnect the battery. Since you're hooked up to electric AC power, your converter should power all 12V systems. If there is still 12V issues, the converter needs attention.
__________________
SCOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 07:30 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
I'd recommend a progressive dynamics brand converter if yours is bad.
Normally the reason it goes bright and dim is its overheating lights dim then when it cools it comes back on lights brite.

Also you don't need to replace whole distribution center either.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 08:17 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Converter removed in photo.
There's also a wfco converter trouble shooting guide in the Library section here on frf.


Turbs
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130907_071723.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	39372  
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 08:39 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Triguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 6,950
My first thought was also a bad converter.

You didn't explain why the battery is bad, but the converter should be charging it. Its pretty easy to test the converter output voltage, which should read about 13.6 volts. Here is a link to the converter manuals that Turbo mentioned.

Forest River Forums - Downloads - Power and Electrical
__________________
Scott
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 11:06 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Battery

It looks like a bad battery may be the problem. I hooked up a charger last night. Everything seems to be working today. I am replacing battery today.
__________________
Joe William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 12:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Fire Instructor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Upstate (Albany Area) NY
Posts: 772
If you do ANY amount of camping without hookups, I would HIGHLY recommend a pair of 6-volt golf cart batteries to replace the single 12v battery. You will get MUCH better use from it. I got mine at Sam's Club at a very reasonable price.... If you only camp with hookups, it probably isn't worth doing....
__________________
Fire Instructor

2014 RAM 2500 Laramie 4x4 Quad Cab w/Cummins Turbo Diesel, 2009 Rockwood 2607, and 3 'yaks!
300W of Suntech Solar, a Rogue MPT-3024 Controller, and a Xantrex PW2000 Inverter
Fire Instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 01:22 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Battery

Interesting theory. Why do you have to have a charged battery to run digital thermostat even though I have the battery disconnect on?
__________________
Joe William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 06:40 PM   #10
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,295
all the digital thermostats that i've seen, needs a AA or AAA battery to function.
__________________

__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.