Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-27-2013, 09:19 AM   #1

Battery cables getting hot

Just purchased a 2004 Flagstaff 829RBSS, While plugged into shore power (30-15 amp reducer) at my home I noticed both the positive (red) and negative (white) cable were very hot to the touch at the battery. Also I am getting a decent spark from the negative post when hooking up. I checked the output voltage of the cables with the battery disconnected and read 13.6V-13.8V. The battery itself measured 12.0V.

IM new to the camping world but familiar with elec systems. I didn't have much time last night but a quick glace on the frame rail near the battery I saw what appeared to be two terminal strips, and a breakaway switch. I know when I picked up the trailer the battery had a higher voltage. Which tells me either the original owner left it plugged in and it is a bad battery or I have a slow draw.

The hot cables is what is bothering me and sparks. I know a bad cell in a battery can cause this (considering both pos and neg were hot), or I have a short (sparks). But I would think a short would only cause heat on one side not the circuit. I know the capacitor in the converter can thrown a spark in the beginning but should not continuously spark as you hook up the battery and move the ring terminal