Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2012, 07:41 PM   #31
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by grayfox View Post
That"s my story and I'm sticking to it. I guess I'll have to carry an extra battery when we camp in Fed. parks and dry camping in general.
No, you missed my point. Did they say you have it and can't turn it off, or did they say you don't have a switch because you don't have the feature?
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:46 PM   #32
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 25
According to dometic, my model has the feature, it can't be turned off, and is expected to draw 3.5 to 4A. There is no way to retrofit a switch.

This is going to be fun to explain. "We bought a generator to power the propane fridge"

__________________

__________________
Skelshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:53 PM   #33
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Youíd be surprised how much power your furnace draws on a cold day and night, it alone can be hard on a battery. Plus if you donít have LED lights each bulb draws 2 to 3 amps. Two or three lights and a furnace and your using 10 amps. 10 amps X 6 hours and you use 90% of your 70 AH battery (At a full 100% charge).
__________________
5fulltime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 08:04 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 101
If I might suggest a book of pretty good value, here it is: Living On 12 V.
Living on 12 Volts with Ample Power
I'm certain it affords even the most knowledgeable an opportunity to learn more, and even refresh oneís memory.
And, no, I didnít write it or sell it. But, Iíve got it, read it many times, even practiced a few of the ideas. Furthermore, it cannot hurt your pocketbook much.
Enjoy,
Mike
__________________
traveler2955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 08:21 PM   #35
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5fulltime View Post
Youíd be surprised how much power your furnace draws on a cold day and night, it alone can be hard on a battery. Plus if you donít have LED lights each bulb draws 2 to 3 amps. Two or three lights and a furnace and your using 10 amps. 10 amps X 6 hours and you use 90% of your 70 AH battery (At a full 100% charge).
I have led lights and furnace doesn't run continuously... or not at all right now.
__________________
Skelshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 08:39 PM   #36
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: South West PA
Posts: 2,947
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
No, you missed my point. Did they say you have it and can't turn it off, or did they say you don't have a switch because you don't have the feature?
Herk, I'm not the guy who contacted Dometic. My frig is switch free... at least I don't see it anywhere on the unit visible inside the coach. There could be a switch behind the outside " service door". I hope I didn't mislead you.

As always I appreciate your efforts and input.

Rick
__________________
grayfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 09:04 PM   #37
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by grayfox View Post
Herk, I'm not the guy who contacted Dometic. My frig is switch free... at least I don't see it anywhere on the unit visible inside the coach. There could be a switch behind the outside " service door". I hope I didn't mislead you.

As always I appreciate your efforts and input.

Rick
Oops. sorry.
I am just so shocked about this development.
If it was mine; I would look for the heating element and remove or switch it.
I boondock too often for that kind of uncontrolled overhead.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 09:18 PM   #38
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
The "Climate Control" heater draws 500 milliamps. Not sure is it is on all the time or on a timer in the control board. Page 2 of the parts manual.

Still looking for an actual location of the climate control heater.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 10:07 PM   #39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Battery Fitness

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skelshy View Post
I have led lights and furnace doesn't run continuously... or not at all right now.
.
*Have you checked for a power drain when every thing is off.
*Have you checked the battery to see if it has a dead cell.
*Have you check the output voltage on the converter to make sure your getting a full charge.
*Maybe as suggested get an inline amp meter so you can monitor your usage.

Just some suggestions
__________________
5fulltime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 07:22 AM   #40
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skelshy View Post
According to dometic, my model has the feature, it can't be turned off, and is expected to draw 3.5 to 4A. There is no way to retrofit a switch.
This is going to be fun to explain. "We bought a generator to power the propane fridge"
They might be giving you their "standard" answer.
If there's no switch cut out they're gonna say no way to add a switch.
The heater is located behind the metal strip that separates the
top of the fresh food opening and the bottom of the freezer.
It's the area that's visible between the doors when they are closed.
We've never had a problem with condensation there but I can see
it might happen if you were in a very high humidity and not running your AC.

IF I were you and wanted to dry camp I'd not give up on Dometic.
I'd keep calling until I got to speak to an engineer not just some phone
support person.
That heater has wires and one of those wires can be cut, disconnected
or tapped for a hidden switch. You just need to talk to someone who
actually knows the location of the heater and routing of the wires
and where the heater is connected into your 12v supply.

I've NEVER had mine on so I would not hesitate to disconnect it if I were you.
The most you'll get is a few drops of condensation that you can wipe off
every once in a while when you open the door.

IF enough people complain about this issue they might revise this design.
But they will for sure help you around it if you are persistent and get the
right person on the phone.
__________________

__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.