Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2015, 10:08 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 303
I use a 100 amp shunt for our 5th wheel and also our older 5th wheel. The most inrush ampere flow I've observed was 60 amps from a 60 amp rated converter charger. The inrush only flowed for a few seconds before tapering quickly to less and less. The largest single draw device is the furnace at about 7.5 Amps.

If you have a Class A, B, or C you may have larger draw appliances. And, of course multiple devices will cumulatively add to the ampere draw. If you are going to draw an engine starting current through the shunt, you should definitely consider the 500 amp shunt.
__________________

__________________
2013 Flagstaff 8528IKWS, 2006 F-350 6.0L
DickiedooFlagman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 10:14 PM   #22
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanpedroflyer View Post
Herk, which do you recommend, the 100amp shunt or the 500Amp?
The logic for the 100 amp shunt is sound; however I chose the 500 amp shunt so I would have the option to move the entire contraption to a new more power hungry camper. As long as you tell the computer which one you have, it will not care.

The 500 amp shunt (as I recall) was not that much more; but could be a factor in your decision.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 07:09 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 303
The shunts are less than $20 each according to the website.
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 8528IKWS, 2006 F-350 6.0L
DickiedooFlagman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 07:25 AM   #24
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,158
I would get the big one then; just my read that "Bigger Is Better" in case the charging or discharge current exceeds the 100ma shunt (Big Inverter perhaps).
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 08:34 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 303
If there is any chance of exceeding 100A, then the larger one would be the best choice. Our old 5th wheel had a 400W inverter, but I don't remember any statistics on the 12v current flow. In that installation, I had two Interstate golf cart batteries.

The TM-2020 Trimetric programming for the 500A shunt looses one decimal place on the display of some information. Example: the Ah flow would resolve to .1 instead of .01 with the 100A shunt. Not a significant loss of information for the camper application.
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 8528IKWS, 2006 F-350 6.0L
DickiedooFlagman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 10:57 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by DickiedooFlagman View Post
If there is any chance of exceeding 100A, then the larger one would be the best choice. Our old 5th wheel had a 400W inverter, but I don't remember any statistics on the 12v current flow. In that installation, I had two Interstate golf cart batteries.

The TM-2020 Trimetric programming for the 500A shunt looses one decimal place on the display of some information. Example: the Ah flow would resolve to .1 instead of .01 with the 100A shunt. Not a significant loss of information for the camper application.
There is something in the math logic here that doesn't make sense to me!! If the current draw is approx. 1/10 amp then whether you are using the 100 amp or 500 amp shunt the current draw still remains at approx. 1/10 amp. The difference is in the display either to 1 or 2 decimal places. The 500 amp shut might show .1 and the 100 amp might show .09, both very close to 1/10 amp. Or in the example above the displays could be .1 and .10 for the 500 and 100 amp shunts respectively!!
__________________
Of all the things I've lost in my life the thing I miss the most is my mind!
prairiecamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 03:46 PM   #27
Karen, Pete & Chloe Kat
 
sanpedroflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 67
Has anyone installed the Trimetric in a Solera?? If so, where did you put the Monitor Panel and did you find an easy route from the Batteries to the monitor??

I have a 2015 2w R and I haven't been brave enough to open any walls, only taking out panels and drawers.

Thanks,

Pete
__________________
sanpedroflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 02:47 PM   #28
Karen, Pete & Chloe Kat
 
sanpedroflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 67
Trimetric 2030 Monitor in a Solera 2wR

Has anyone installed the Trimetric in a Solera?? If so, where did you put the Monitor Panel and did you find an easy route from the Batteries to the monitor??

I have a 2015 24 R and I haven't been brave enough to open any walls, only taking out panels and drawers.

Thanks,

Pete
__________________
sanpedroflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 12:41 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 38
Where are the batteries in that rig? I have not been in that specific model, but are most of the panel and controls above the fridge? If so, route the wire up the fridge cabinet to the Trimetric panel. The fridge stack is generally a pretty good place to go.
__________________
Kelly
Show Low and Rio Verde, AZ
cuernoverdesolar.wordpress.com
Klipstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 12:54 PM   #30
Karen, Pete & Chloe Kat
 
sanpedroflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 67
Trimetric 2030 Monitor in a Solera 24 R

The battery box is the top step of the entry door. The panel over the Fridg takes up all of the room. I would need to modify the cabinet to mount it their.

I can probably find a route from the battery box, but I'm not capable of modifying the cabinet (It is cherry and stained)
__________________

__________________
sanpedroflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.