Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2015, 12:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 21
Battery Monitoring Gauge - Trimetric

Hello Forum,
I have a 2011 Sunseeker 3010DS and I have recently installed a Trimetric 2025 battery monitor. I am getting voltage readings from the meter that are fairly accurate. However, I am not receiving any amp readings. Has anyone installed such a device or similar device and gotten it to work properly? Is there a wiring diagram that would show which wires go where inside the RV? I am running the meter partially thru the battery cutoff switch so it isn't always on, I don't know if this is right.

any assistance would be very helpful.
regards,
bfrtech
__________________

__________________
bfrtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 01:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
rsscully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 183
Did you install a shunt?

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1432918902713.jpg
Views:	247
Size:	119.3 KB
ID:	78466
__________________

__________________
rsscully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 01:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
rsscully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 183
Amp Ammeter DC 300A 75mV Current Measure Shunt Resistor https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006Z954QA..._NWjAvb0ZDWH1G
__________________
rsscully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 01:07 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 21
yes it is running thru a shunt. I have an extended negative going to one side of the shunt and the other side is running off of the battery cutoff switch. I think that it has something to do with my Power Distribution Module.

thanks,
bfrtech
__________________
bfrtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 01:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
Actually, you want your shunt to be upstream of any other connection and as near to the battery lead as possible. You can attach light loads directly to the downstream side of your shunt, but nothing between the shunt and terminal.
__________________
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 01:45 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 21
This diagram shows how they say to install it. I have the negative from my two house batteries going to the left side of the shunt. Onto the right side of the shunt, I have a wire going from my battery cutoff switch.

It seems as if all of my DC power goes thru my PDM and then to the switch, would this make sense?

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shunt_setup.JPG
Views:	152
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	78469  
__________________
bfrtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 01:56 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfrtech View Post
It seems as if all of my DC power goes thru my PDM and then to the switch, would this make sense?
Yep. Sorry. I guess I got confused when you said "from" the switch rather than "to". Instead of battery > shunt > switch it sounded like battery > switch > shunt.

You're good
__________________
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 12:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 732
I believe every time power is dis-connected you have to re-program the initial data.
__________________
Of all the things I've lost in my life the thing I miss the most is my mind!
prairiecamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 09:01 PM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by prairiecamper View Post
I believe every time power is dis-connected you have to re-program the initial data.
I believe the data you program is held in an ePROM. It keeps data permanently unless changed or erased. My TriMetric retains last recorded data even with the batteries disconnected.

This can be a problem if you remove the batteries and charge them up where the shunt can't measure the charge you put in while it is out of the system.

If you are sure the batteries are full; just reset the percent discharged to 100% by selecting that and holding the reset button for 3 seconds or so.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 09:05 PM   #10
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Here is how mine is installed:

Just make sure your solar charge controller has a blocking diode in the output and put the battery switch to both to solar charge.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	My wiring diagram.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	198.2 KB
ID:	78565   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2270.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	316.9 KB
ID:	78566  
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.