Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-27-2016, 03:44 PM   #1

Battery - newbie

Hi, I'm new to dry camping and have set up what I think is a good solution for power but I'm having issues. Here's the set up.

1998 Dutchman Class C - dry camped on property with no power

I've not an experienced power person but I've looked at the usual YouTube info and done some research before I did this. Still having problems and would appreciate any suggestions.

I replaced coach battery with 2 AGM Deep Cycle batteries that are wired together. They are 120 ah each. I purchased a Bestek 400W power inverter and connected it directly to one of the batteries so that I could run some 110 things in the camper. I have a generator but don't like to run it that often. Was trying to provide some basic power through batteries.

Here's what is happening. The things plugged into the inverter don't run but a few hours before they die. This is an Internet router, wireless box and charging my phone primarily. I then have to turn on the engine to recharge things. It's almost like none of the power from the two AGM batteries is being used. I have checked them a few times with meter/charger and they show they are charged up or up to 11.x volts. Still the lights, heater, inverter, etc won't run more than a few hours. Shouldn't I be getting more from these two batteries?

My fridge runs on gas/electric and is pulling on gas as I can hear it. I don't keep any other lights on and until it started getting cold I wasn't trying to run any AC/heat at all.

Appreciate any insight as to how I have this wired or am I just asking too much?

Thanks
jeanacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 03:57 PM   #2