Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2016, 09:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 114
Blown Breaker Compatibility

I finally found a breaker on the frame of my 27rr that had blown. I went to a local RV dealer and they gave me a 12v 30A breaker. But the one that came off was a 24V 30A breaker. So are they compatible?
__________________

__________________
Rhoadzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 08:20 AM   #2
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,306
Yeah they're compatible. The amperage rating is the main factor.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 08:33 AM   #3
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 14,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhoadzie View Post
I finally found a breaker on the frame of my 27rr that had blown. I went to a local RV dealer and they gave me a 12v 30A breaker. But the one that came off was a 24V 30A breaker. So are they compatible?
Did it look similar to this one?



The reason I ask, is that these kind have a reset button on them. See the little black button, near the bottom...you usually can just press this in and reset the breaker if it's tripped.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 08:54 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 172
Though you are replacing the breaker, has the source of the cause been found and eliminated?
__________________
BBQGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 09:05 AM   #5
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,540
You say it was blown. They are resettable, did you try resetting it.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 09:08 AM   #6
Pickin' & Campin'
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 4,967
As Bama said... amperage is the important factor here.

Voltage really only comes into play when you exceed the voltage rating of a circuit breaker.

With that said, it is not uncommon to use a 24v/30amp CB in a 12v system so replacing it with a 12v/30amp CB (in that same 12v system) is no problem. It is still rated for 12v.

I would not suggest using a 12v/30amp CB in a 24v system.
__________________

__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.
Days Camped: '15=22 '16=46 '17=30
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.