Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-13-2017, 07:07 AM   #1

Brand new FR Salem...dead in 2 days

Hey all...I am new to this and unfortunately had a terrible exp at CW as far as orientation goes. I drove the RV to storage and 2 days later went to go check and it's dead. Everything was off as far as I know. How do I charge it? It's not a normal plug I can plug in anywhere. Do I just deal with it and charge it when I plug in at campsite? Isn't it bad for it to keep going dead? Sorry for the ignorance, just new to this and want to understand. Thanks all!!

-Jeremy Wilson, Summerville, SC
jerwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 07:11 AM   #2

Yes it is bad to let it stay discharged as it can permanently damage the batteries. When you say it is not a normal plug, I assume you mean the it is a 30 or 50 amp plug. You can get an adapter that takes your plug down to a regular 15 amp receptacle, which will be plenty to run your converter that will re-charge the batteries. It will, however, take at least 15 or 20 hours to re-charge.

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 07:14 AM   #3

You need to read "12 Volt side of Life" there are Many reasons for Discharge of Battery in a RV most are hidden! Total disconnect of Battery or your battery will be "Dead" when you return to the storage area! Youroo!!
Old 05-13-2017, 07:15 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottBrownstein View Post
Yes it is bad to let it stay discharged as it can permanently damage the batteries. When you say it is not a normal plug, I assume you mean the it is a 30 or 50 amp plug. You can get an adapter that takes your plug down to a regular 15 amp receptacle, which will be plenty to run your converter that will re-charge the batteries. It will, however, take at least 15 or 20 hours to re-charge.