Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2013, 10:02 PM   #1
Member
 
prayers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 55
Can I plug into 110v household current?

My 1999 Georgetown 34' motorhome is parked next to my house. Can I plug an extension cord from the house 110v outlet to the Motorhomes 30 amp extension cord using an adaptor that I used on my boat when docked at the Marina. I only want power to interior lights and TV. Would I have to turn off the breaker to the refrigerator.

What do I need to do to use power from my house to power lights and TV.
Thanks for your time!
__________________

__________________
prayers1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:13 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
If you don't use any high amp appliances you'll be fine with an ext cord.
Do not run your a/c.

Your fridge is 110?
Or is it gas&electric?


Turbs
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:15 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Taylorgso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by prayers1 View Post
My 1999 Georgetown 34' motorhome is parked next to my house. Can I plug an extension cord from the house 110v outlet to the Motorhomes 30 amp extension cord using an adaptor that I used on my boat when docked at the Marina. I only want power to interior lights and TV. Would I have to turn off the breaker to the refrigerator.

What do I need to do to use power from my house to power lights and TV.
Thanks for your time!
You'll be OK if all you'll be using are interior lights and TV. Hopefully you'll be on a 20amp circuit on the house outlet. I would suggest using no less than 12 gauge Ext. cord. If your extension cord is not too long, you should be able to run 110V to cool down the fridge when you go camping. I am able to run my A/C off 20amp circuit with a 10 gauge Ext. cord, but with A/C running, anything else, such as Fridge or microwave will probably trip the breaker on the house circuit. No need to turn off breakers in MH, just make sure switches are off!
__________________
Ed (N4RWU) & Becky Taylor
Mistie (Walks 4-down)
Greensboro, NC
Taylorgso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:30 PM   #4
Member
 
prayers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 55
Great information! My daughter wants to do a little home/camping with a couple of her little friendr in the Motorhome and we thought it would be a Cool ideal if they could watch TV and have use of an interior light.
__________________
prayers1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 11:52 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,475
Prayers, you can buy an adapter to plug your RV power cord into a 110 ac receptacle. I have a 13500 BTU a/c in our unit and run it all the time on a 20 amp circuit. Do not try to run the a/c and the water heater or the microwave at the same time.

I also run the refrigerator and the converter for the DC lights and the a/c. Use your rv cord and get an adapter. Experiment and you will find what you can run. If you trip the breaker you overloaded the circuit. You will not hurt anything... Can use TV also with a/c...
__________________
2016 Siverback 33IK
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Super Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 12:15 AM   #6
Member
 
prayers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 55
Thanks! Good to know.

I never used the electric plug in at the campsites, so I'm not really sure what to do besides just connecting the Motorhome cord to the house power. I have a main power on/off at the inside entrance, it either gives power to the inside or not. I assume it gets its power from tha battery. So, do I turn it to OFF before plugging in? Also, if I leave the 110v hooked up, will it also charge the Motorhome batteries.
__________________
prayers1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 12:36 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by prayers1 View Post
Thanks! Good to know.

I never used the electric plug in at the campsites, so I'm not really sure what to do besides just connecting the Motorhome cord to the house power. I have a main power on/off at the inside entrance, it either gives power to the inside or not. I assume it gets its power from tha battery. So, do I turn it to OFF before plugging in? Also, if I leave the 110v hooked up, will it also charge the Motorhome batteries.
What do you,do at the campsite? Do run off the genset? You must be using your ac, microwave and TV, etc...

I don't have a generator in my travel trailer but I am sure you must have a select switch between shore power ( ac at campsite or home) and generator. Change the switch to shore power and then hook up the ac power cord to your 110 volts. Now, if you have 50 amp service it gets a little more complicated. What is the service to your motor home?
__________________
2016 Siverback 33IK
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Super Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 12:45 AM   #8
Member
 
prayers1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 55
Yes, I use the Genset. With tha I can only run one AC. I have either 30 or 50 amp service. With 50 amp service I can run the front and rear AC units. At the campsites I can use either 30 or 50 amps service.
__________________
prayers1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 12:58 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by prayers1 View Post
Yes, I use the Genset. With tha I can only run one AC. I have either 30 or 50 amp service. With 50 amp service I can run the front and rear AC units. At the campsites I can use either 30 or 50 amps service.
OK, you say you have either 30 or 50 amp service. I'm a little confused and please excuse me but I have to refer to my boating experience. I had a boat that could either hook up to 50 amp service or I needed a y adapter to hook up to 1 or 2 30 amp services. I now have a boat that has two 30 amp inputs. What does your MH have? A 50 amp connector with an adapter to two 30 amp circuits or two 30 amp inputs? I would think just one power connection for 50 amp and then you need to use an adapter for 30 amp?
__________________
2016 Siverback 33IK
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Super Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 01:11 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,475
Prayers, here is an excellent reference to RV wiring... http://www.rv-dreams.com/rv-electrical.html
__________________

__________________
2016 Siverback 33IK
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Super Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.