Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2016, 10:00 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,329
Can you divide power available at 50amp receptacle?

I have a 50amp dedicated receptacle at our home. Our MH is designed for 50amp service with 50amp cord, and operates at capacity if needed.

As with our own rig, we always figured other visiting rigs can work off 30amp and lower with the appropriate power connector cords, as long as consumption guidelines are understood operating at these lower outputs.

If we invite friends to visit our location with their rigs, what would be the most distributed power we can offer for multiple rigs, using industry available power plug configurations?

So far, all I can envision to offer:

Power my MH with 50amp service, and offer a 15amp service off one of my outside GFI outlets from my MH.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________

Ken and Terry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 10:06 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
trbomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 981
Just drop a std 30a 3 wire rv receptical off the 4 wire 50 you have.You will only use 1 hot leg,gnd and nuetral will be the same.You at times be close to an overload on that leg,but if it is fused at the main for 50a and is #8 wire it will be fine.This is what I have and its been there for a couple years now.
__________________

__________________
trbomax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 10:08 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
You can buy a splinter. One 50 to 2 30 amp. Just plug it in to the outlet.
__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 10:09 AM   #4
Pickin' & Campin'
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 5,047
Short of wiring in additional receptacles at your house, you are pretty much limited to what you've suggested. Also, feeding a rig with a GFCI outlet can sometimes be problematic but not always.

You could however, split your 50 amp service into two 30's with an adapter like this.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.
Days Camped: '15=22 '16=46 '17=30
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 10:33 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
trbomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 981
Maybe too complicated for your app,but, its a 50a 4 wire at bottom rt (my trailer is plugged into it). Immeadiatly to the left is a 3 wire 220 v welder plug (which has nothing to do with your app).Directly above that (under the box flip cover ) is a 120v 3 wire 30 a rv receptical. It has a #10 plug in it at the moment because I use that circut to power my block heater in the diesel.There are also 2 120 v 15a recepticals to the right of it. All the 120v rec are fused in the panel at either 15 or 30 a as dictated by thir intended use. Dont forget a strain relief at the bottm of the post (very important).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2262.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	420.1 KB
ID:	109324   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2263.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	355.2 KB
ID:	109325  
__________________
trbomax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 10:43 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Short of wiring in additional receptacles at your house, you are pretty much limited to what you've suggested. Also, feeding a rig with a GFCI outlet can sometimes be problematic but not always.

You could however, split your 50 amp service into two 30's with an adapter like this.
X2, easiest way to go. The splitters are very common in the marine industry. Many boats have 2 30amp receptacles for their power input.

Your breaker is fine because the splitter splits out each leg (2legs) of the 50amp 220 volt to 50amp 120 volt. Each leg (2 legs) of the 220v is rated for 50amp so you will have actually available 120volt at 50amp but the RV has the 30amp protection at the breaker panel.
__________________
2016 Siverback 33IK
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Super Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 10:43 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
trbomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 981
Maybe this shows it better.The 2 breakers for the 30a 120v and 20a 120v circuts are shown here.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2264.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	306.8 KB
ID:	109327  
__________________
trbomax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 10:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
trbomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalford View Post
X2, easiest way to go. The splitters are very common in the marine industry. Many boats have 2 30amp receptacles for their power input.

Your breaker is fine because the splitter splits out each leg (2legs) of the 50amp 220 volt to 50amp 120 volt. Each leg (2 legs) of the 220v is rated for 50amp so you will have actually available 120volt at 50amp but the RV has the 30amp protection at the breaker panel.
Easy,yes.But it doesnt give him what he wants.That would provide 2 30 a circuts and no 50 a circut. He wants a 30 a and a 50a at the same time.A hard wired box is the only way to do that.
__________________
trbomax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 11:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by trbomax View Post
Easy,yes.But it doesnt give him what he wants.That would provide 2 30 a circuts and no 50 a circut. He wants a 30 a and a 50a at the same time.A hard wired box is the only way to do that.
Turbo max, my bad, I did not see the last sentence of the OP... Now, if the OP was willing to give up 20 amps while their guests visit then that would be the easiest route...
__________________
2016 Siverback 33IK
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Super Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 11:18 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,478
Kenandterry, since this is at your home I'm assuming you don't stay in your RV while parked there? Why not just let your guests use the 50 amp service and plug your RV into a 15 amp 120 volt receptacle? There is plenty of current to keep your basic appliance operating (converter, fridge). I also run one AC with no problem and I live in Florida.. Just a thought...
__________________

__________________
2016 Siverback 33IK
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Super Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.