Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2015, 12:48 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,587
Plug the converter straight into the Genny. Nothing else...keep it simple and find out! If its less than a 70 amp converter...all it takes is an extension cord.
__________________

__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 12:49 PM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottBrownstein View Post
Plug the converter straight into the Genny. Nothing else...keep it simple and find out! If its less than a 70 amp converter...all it takes is an extension cord.
"Normally" the converter is hardwired straight to the distribution center.



TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "9 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 12:53 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,587
Sorry...not on my class "A". Different strokes...
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 12:56 PM   #14
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottBrownstein View Post
Sorry...not on my class "A". Different strokes...
I've seen them plugged in don't get me wrong.
But for the most part tt and 5er's are hardwired.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "9 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 01:16 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,587
Well, if that is what he has, the only option is to turn off all of the other AC breakers... If it seems to work for a while and then loads down, it could be the converter running up its load, but if the genny works at all I would be surprised if it couldn't handle a 40 AMP converter which should only draw 400 to 500 watts.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 01:28 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Thanks,
I am trying to charge only the batteries and have no other loads. The generator will drive loads on the 5th wheel (that is what I meant by normal conditions). I have used this generator to work with everything except the air conditioner and the batteries. The refrig is off, the furnace is off, the lights are off, the microwave is off, etc.. I concur that the draw from the generator should be about 8 amps for my 30 amp 5th wheel. I do think the generator is working. Next maybe shut off all the breakers as suggested above to be sure? I think I will put a clamp on ammeter to see what is happening (I do not have a clamp on meter but maybe it time now)
__________________
Carlg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 01:32 PM   #17
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Try all breakers off except converter and see what happens.
An actual amp draw number would be great to know.
With "nothing" on in my 5er and just converter mine draws "normally" a max of 6 amps with low batteries according to my ems.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "9 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 01:33 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
If nothing else is on in the camper,
Water heater, fridge etc etc then I'd possibly say that the generator has issues.
The average "normal" converter draws less then 10 amps at full draw.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "9 nights"
Thanks Turbs,
I concur
__________________
Carlg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 01:34 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,587
If you shut off all of the other breakers and the problem persists, it has to be the converter or the genny. Clamp on ammeter would help decide which is the problem. Converter isn't a monstrous load.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 01:36 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottBrownstein View Post
Plug the converter straight into the Genny. Nothing else...keep it simple and find out! If its less than a 70 amp converter...all it takes is an extension cord.
I do not see a direct plug in for the converter. It is integrated into the power panel area and would have to rewire to get an extension cord to work direct with the converter.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Carlg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charging, generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.