Forest River Forums
Sunline User Photos


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2011, 03:54 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Circuit Breaker for Slideout

I have a Forest River Wilderness. It is a 2001 is 30" and has one slideout. I have been having problems with the slideout going in and out. At first it would do nothing so I replaced the circuit breaker that is up near the hitch. We were unable to read what amp breaker it was so the guy sold me either a 20 amp or a 40 amp. Now the slideout will go in about 10 inches the stop. No motor noise or nothing. I wait a few minutes and it does the same thing. I suspect that I am tripping the breaker and it is resetting itself until it trips again. Can anyone tell me what size breaker should I be using. Thank you in advance.
__________________

__________________
Mark55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 05:28 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 16,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark55 View Post
I have a Forest River Wilderness. It is a 2001 is 30" and has one slide out. I have been having problems with the slide out going in and out. At first it would do nothing so I replaced the circuit breaker that is up near the hitch. We were unable to read what amp breaker it was so the guy sold me either a 20 amp or a 40 amp. Now the slide out will go in about 10 inches the stop. No motor noise or nothing. I wait a few minutes and it does the same thing. I suspect that I am tripping the breaker and it is resetting itself until it trips again. Can anyone tell me what size breaker should I be using. Thank you in advance.
My flagstaff uses a 30 amp auto-resetting current limiter on each slide.
40 amps would be too big (dangerous) and a 20 is too small for sure.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella the German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - 5th Wheel Pullrite Superglide 3300
(2009: 28) (2010: 74) (2011: 93) (2012: 31) (2013: 101) (2014: 22)
I've learned that pleasing everyone is impossible, but ticking everyone off is a piece of cake.
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 04:41 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Slides keep stoping, going in and out

I have a 2003 Cedar Creek 36'fifth wheel with three slides I have had problems with the slides from day one. Took it to the factory in Indiana but still haveing problems. The slides will go in a little, stop wait a few minutes go a little further stop, wait and this goes on and on. Help!
__________________
Pattycake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 05:17 PM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 16,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattycake View Post
I have a 2003 Cedar Creek 36'fifth wheel with three slides I have had problems with the slides from day one. Took it to the factory in Indiana but still having problems. The slides will go in a little, stop wait a few minutes go a little further stop, wait and this goes on and on. Help!
My guess is that someone installed an auto-reset current limiter in your slide motor's circuit. You have a high resistance in your motor circuit and it is drawing more current than the limiter allows. The limiter needs several seconds to cool down enough to reset and you get power again.
Till it pops again...

My guess is: (from cheapest fix to most expensive)

1) Check the ground wire to the frame. Corrosion at the bolt can increase the resistance of the circuit and thus the current draw.

2) Lubricate the gears and racks (long bars with teeth on them) with a can of dry lubricant.

3) Replace the auto-resetting circuit breaker with another of the same (most likely 30 amp)

4) Replace the slide drive motor.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella the German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - 5th Wheel Pullrite Superglide 3300
(2009: 28) (2010: 74) (2011: 93) (2012: 31) (2013: 101) (2014: 22)
I've learned that pleasing everyone is impossible, but ticking everyone off is a piece of cake.
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 06:24 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
f1100turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 23,381
lou ,
do you think a relay in line would help with the high amps ?
just like you would need one for a starter . or a snow plow. that uses a relay and or solenoid.
or anything that requires high amps .
I blew a fuse on my slide out the first day I had it . I installed a circuit breaker in my fuse panel in place of the fuse and of the same amp. No issues yet .

My fear also FR is not using heavy enough cable to make it work properly .

thoughts ?
__________________
2011 palomino sabre 32 bhok-6
2012 nights camped (34) FINAL
2013 nights camped (28)FINAL
2014 nights camped (24)
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...58-albums.html
f1100turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 07:13 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 16,398
In Patrick's case I don't think a relay would help.

Something is causing a higher amp draw than the deigners planned.
THAT needs to be addressed first.

Do NOT try and UP the fuse rating.
The wires are min size for 30 amps.

My money is still on a corroded ground.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella the German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - 5th Wheel Pullrite Superglide 3300
(2009: 28) (2010: 74) (2011: 93) (2012: 31) (2013: 101) (2014: 22)
I've learned that pleasing everyone is impossible, but ticking everyone off is a piece of cake.
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 07:46 PM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
f1100turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 23,381
I bet your right . cause after I fixed my propane leak tonight I found that one of my central ground locations with about 6 wires going to it had never had the paint removed before they attached the ground wires . They attached 6 ground wires to a painted surface.
Why isn't there enough attention to detail on somethings and over kill on others ?
__________________

__________________
2011 palomino sabre 32 bhok-6
2012 nights camped (34) FINAL
2013 nights camped (28)FINAL
2014 nights camped (24)
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...58-albums.html
f1100turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Forest River RV News right to your Email!

Stay up-to-date with Forest River news to your inbox

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]