Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2016, 08:24 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 4,284
Converter

I have owned 5 campers so far and I had never given it much thought but when getting ready to tow the camper I had always turned the things off at the breaker box but I had never turned off the converter. It has finally dawned on me that leaving the converter on is bad. We stop and eat or stop at Walmart and buy food and all the while that converter was trying to charge the batteries off battery power, just killing the batteries. I had never given it much thought until I was reading on this forum.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
2015 Cedar Creek 32RL
2012 Silverado 3500HD SRW
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ignhavefun.gif
spock123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2016, 09:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 144
The converter does not run off the batteries. It only operates off of the 120V AC input. There is no battery input to your converter.
__________________

__________________
David, Sherry and our three fur kids, Nicholas, Finnegan and Bentley
2013 Coachmen Encounter 36BH
2014 Honda CR-V/ Blue Ox Autostop
DSurette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2016, 09:27 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Converter

Spock123 unless you are plugged into shore power your converter does nothing.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2016, 09:27 PM   #4
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,825
No but if you have an inverter installed (say a residential fridge) that does change it to what spock is saying if you hook it up that way . I am sure the inverter is not wired to the battery convertor on the 120 side but if one made a hook up this way it does make a weird loop on the system.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2016, 09:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 4,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSurette View Post
The converter does not run off the batteries. It only operates off of the 120V AC input. There is no battery input to your converter.

I have a 1,000 watt inverter and it will send power to the converter.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2015 Cedar Creek 32RL
2012 Silverado 3500HD SRW
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ignhavefun.gif
spock123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2016, 09:32 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Why is your inverter hooked to your converter?



2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2016, 09:35 PM   #7
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,825
Hmm.. Interesting. Factory?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2016, 10:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
sgtlm17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,156
You never have your inverter run your converter. This causes a bad electrical loop that will kill your batteries. This is a RV no no.
__________________
2016 Forester GTS 2801QSF
sgtlm17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2016, 06:57 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by spock123 View Post
I have a 1,000 watt inverter and it will send power to the converter.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Usually if you have a factory inverter it is to feed the optional residential fridge only and will not feed converter....
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2016, 07:08 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,587
I would be extremely surprised if the factory would install a 1,000 watt inverter feeding a 1200 watt, 65 amp converter. That is what I think 35RLs have. It would run for a second and immediately shut down!
__________________

__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.