Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2013, 11:37 AM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 59
I think I am also having the same problem on my Rockwood Roo 23RS. Where is the converter located in your trailer?
__________________

__________________
2010 Rockwood Roo 23RS
2015 F150 Lariat Supercrew 3.5l EcoBoost. Used to tow with 2006 F150 XLT Supercrew 5.4l V8. The EcoBoost is so much better!
DirtSquirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 07:36 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 91
Mine is under my fridge
__________________

__________________
BLTOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 07:41 AM   #33
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLTOH View Post
OK new converter in and seems to be in good order. Still checking prices on batteries as the one in TT finally fully charged up after a week on the tender charger.

I do have one question on the old converter the line going into the 15amp box was a spliced 2 line with the second wire being capped off. The new one had single wire which j did not add a second wire to it.. is that OK to do? It didn't say I had to just said to make sure there was only one wire combined going into it.
Not sure what your talking about here.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 08:32 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo

Not sure what your talking about here.
I'll take a picture tonite of it...basically there is one line that is spliced with 2 wires but I don't see the need of why it is..
__________________
BLTOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 08:35 AM   #35
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLTOH View Post

I'll take a picture tonite of it...basically there is one line that is spliced with 2 wires but I don't see the need of why it is..
Good deal !
Surely interesting at the least.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 05:04 PM   #36
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLTOH View Post
I'll take a picture tonite of it...basically there is one line that is spliced with 2 wires but I don't see the need of why it is..
A picture sure would help

Sounds like a pigtail in there to make a code proper connection if one of your 120v wires (like the hot 110v wire from your converter) is stranded copper. I'm not an electrician, but, if I recall, stranded copper is not allowed to screw directly to a circuit breaker, hence a pigtail with wirenut.

I say, "If I recall", darn it I just swapped an old Parallax 7155 with a PD 4655 and I did re-arrange the 120v circuits but I can't remember what I did with a pigtail I found.

C
__________________
dcmChrissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 10:08 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 91
ok got pictures taken but cant figure out how to get them posted other then attachments.

dcm chrissy .. that is probably what it is... so i should go thru and check to make sure it is not a stranded wire end that went into the circuit breaker and f it is i should pigtail it? i cant remember if the new one was stranded wire or not.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_2710.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	55.1 KB
ID:	33137   Click image for larger version

Name:	SAM_2709.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	33138  
__________________
BLTOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 08:43 AM   #38
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLTOH View Post
... so i should go thru and check to make sure it is not a stranded wire end . . .
I don't think so, if you just disconnected & reconnected exactly the way it was originally. But if you removed the pigtail, I would still say "ask an electrician." (like I said, I'm only vaguely recalling about the 110v stranded wire / code issue.) Ask about stranded wiring into a normal style home breaker. The advice my electrician told me may be exactly as I am telling you, or it may have been that you can't mix stranded & solid wire into a breaker slot. I just can't remember, so please check with someone qualified.

Your pictures indeed show a pigtail ready to connect. I can't zoom enough, but looking at that green wire, it might be stranded. If so, I can guess the black & white are also stranded.

If true, the picture makes sense in that . . .
The short black wire is like an extension cord that can properly continue to the breaker slot & complete the connection.

My situation went a little further in that the existing converter had two connections at the end of the black wire. One was the pigtail continuing to the breaker. The second was the hot wire that powered the receptacles in the camper.

I didn't want my new converter & my camper receptacles sharing the same breaker/circuit. So I had to find out what the purpose of a "pigtail" was before I modified it.

Using math, scissors, a ruler, Microsoft Word, & Avery removable labels, I made new 110v & 12v labels to stick over the existing handwritten labels in the camper.

Hope this helps.

dcmChrissy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DCLabels.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	28.0 KB
ID:	33156  
Attached Images
 
__________________
dcmChrissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 09:22 AM   #39
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
stranded wire is used on the main tho.

it looks like the wires are soldered to the board so the pigtail might just be an extension (needed or not).
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 02:52 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz
stranded wire is used on the main tho.

it looks like the wires are soldered to the board so the pigtail might just be an extension (needed or not).
That's the old one I took out the pigtail was in the circuit breaker and the new was is a single line into the circuit breaker. I am thinking its the circuit breaker for the ac but would have to look to confirm. I honestly don't see a need for the pigtail myself but I don't know the deeper details of the electrical world
__________________

__________________
BLTOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.