Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2016, 05:38 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
dead converter, cause?

I hooked up to a new 50Amp plug today and lost my converter and the Dometic microwave.

When trouble shooting the white wire in the 50Amp outlet was not connected and the other 3 wires were all loose, requiring a couple of turns with the screwdriver to cinch them down tight.

Would that murder the converter and possible the microwave?

The microwave was working fine until halfway through the troubleshooting.

2005 FR 38' BSHD(well, in some order) Sandpiper.


(edit) The converter is marked Champway CS60A
__________________

__________________
GrumpyOldGoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 05:42 PM   #2
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrumpyOldGoat View Post
I hooked up to a new 50Amp plug today and lost my converter and the Dometic microwave.

When trouble shooting the white wire in the 50Amp outlet was not connected and the other 3 wires were all loose, requiring a couple of turns with the screwdriver to cinch them down tight.

Would that murder the converter and possible the microwave?

The microwave was working fine until halfway through the troubleshooting.

2005 FR 38' BSHD(well, in some order) Sandpiper.


(edit) The converter is marked Champway CS60A
Yep, you probably had an open neutral and shot 240 volts (or a high variation of) thru the system. You will lose the converter, microwave, and a lot of times the television. Maybe the fridge control board too.

We just discussed this the other day in a thread, let me get you the link.
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 05:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
crunchman12001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Posts: 3,077
A new 50 amp plug? Did you use an adapter?
__________________
2017 Salem Villa Estate 395RET-
2011 Coachmen Freedom Express 295RLDS- Sold
2015 F-250 FX4
crunchman12001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 05:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
Yep, you probably had an open neutral and shot 240 volts thru the system. You will lose the converter, microwave, and a lot of times the television. Maybe the fridge control board too.

We just discussed this the other day in a thread, let me get you the link.
X2 and maybe get one of these.....it should prevent any future electrical issue....


Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 05:49 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
The trlr is wired for 50amp, used the cord that came with it.

The outlet was new yesterday.

Just to add to the question, where can I get a replacement that fits in the same spot?
__________________
GrumpyOldGoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 05:49 PM   #6
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by crunchman12001 View Post
A new 50 amp plug? Did you use an adapter?
Good question, and we need to really know all the facts. Do you actually have a 30 amp (3 prong on cord) or 50 amp (4 prong on cord) RV.

I gave the advice above assuming you are connecting to a true 120/240 volt split phase 50 amp outlet. You usually only have a problem if you have an open neutral or miswiring there.

A 30 amp outlet 240 volt event is most always caused when connecting it wrong in the breaker box and wiring it for 240 volts and not 120 volts.

Check out this recent thread with post#6:

Burn out of electric converter

No white wire connected (the neutral) is an open neutral...and unfortunately, you have most likely shot 240 (or some kind of high voltage variation) volts thru the RV.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 05:55 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
It's a 4 prong 50amp cord.
__________________
GrumpyOldGoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 05:58 PM   #8
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrumpyOldGoat View Post
It's a 4 prong 50amp cord.
The thread link I posted above has a lot more details and other links to websites explaining the open neutral.
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.