Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2011, 08:40 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Big Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 533
Electric Hookup At Home

I ran my electric from my main box to the outside of the house where I park my camper. I have a 30 amp breaker inside, with two 110 outlets and the 30 amp hookup for the camper. The biggest cost was the electrical wire...Here is a picture
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Electric Hookup.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	54.4 KB
ID:	5612  
__________________

__________________
2004 Chevy Avalanche Z66 W/Transmission Cooler
2011 Grey Wolf 28BH
Blue Ox Sway Pro WDH
2 Beagles (Snoopy & Dexter)

Big Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 12:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
fivecodys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 318
Nice job!
I did the same thing myself.
I also had sticker shock when I went to Lowes to buy the wire.

It's nice being able to run thre A/C when we are loading up the trailer in 1oo degree heat.

Thanks for sharing.
Bill
__________________

__________________
2009 Flagstaff 8528 RKSS
2007 Toyota Tundra DC 5.7L V8
Pullrite Superglide 14K
Air Lift 5000
Prodigy Brake Controller

"I've got a mind like a steele.. a......a steele......um.....uh...... what's that thing called again?
fivecodys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 01:04 PM   #3
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Dawg View Post
I ran my electric from my main box to the outside of the house where I park my camper. I have a 30 amp breaker inside, with two 110 outlets and the 30 amp hookup for the camper. The biggest cost was the electrical wire...Here is a picture
From the look of your picture. Your electrical work appears to be in violation of the electrical codes.
Are the 2 receptacles and the RV receptacle all on the 30 amp breaker together?
If so, you may overload that breaker if you have something plugged into the receptacles while running the loads in the RV. If you used 10/2 wire which is rated for 30 amps and have the full load of the RV and something else plugged into the receptacles with a load that combined exceeds the 30 amps it will cause the breaker to trip.
Another thing is those receptacles are not rated for the 30 amps supplied to them. They are 15 amp rated receptacles meaning nothing over that 15 amp rating should be plugged in to them. You run the risk of having a serious problem with something drawing too many amps and not tripping the breaker and catching fire since the breaker is too large for those receptacles.
Your 30 amp circuit for the RV should be a dedicated circuit and the receptacles should be on a seperate circuit that is a GFIC protected circuit since they are outside. The two different wires can not be run in the same conduit either. Easiest solution is to remove the receptacles and wire nut & tape them inside the top box and get a water tight box cover to seal them from the weather. Then run a new circuit protected with either a GFIC Receptacle or GFIC Breaker in the panel to outside near the same location.
I'm bringing this to your attention because heaven forbid if it caused a fire and was investigated your insurance company most likely would not cover your loss.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 07:54 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Big Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfsoistman View Post
From the look of your picture. Your electrical work appears to be in violation of the electrical codes.
Are the 2 receptacles and the RV receptacle all on the 30 amp breaker together?
If so, you may overload that breaker if you have something plugged into the receptacles while running the loads in the RV. If you used 10/2 wire which is rated for 30 amps and have the full load of the RV and something else plugged into the receptacles with a load that combined exceeds the 30 amps it will cause the breaker to trip.
Another thing is those receptacles are not rated for the 30 amps supplied to them. They are 15 amp rated receptacles meaning nothing over that 15 amp rating should be plugged in to them. You run the risk of having a serious problem with something drawing too many amps and not tripping the breaker and catching fire since the breaker is too large for those receptacles.
Your 30 amp circuit for the RV should be a dedicated circuit and the receptacles should be on a seperate circuit that is a GFIC protected circuit since they are outside. The two different wires can not be run in the same conduit either. Easiest solution is to remove the receptacles and wire nut & tape them inside the top box and get a water tight box cover to seal them from the weather. Then run a new circuit protected with either a GFIC Receptacle or GFIC Breaker in the panel to outside near the same location.
I'm bringing this to your attention because heaven forbid if it caused a fire and was investigated your insurance company most likely would not cover your loss.
Thanks for the info, never took that into concideration. Looks like I have some more work to do.
__________________
2004 Chevy Avalanche Z66 W/Transmission Cooler
2011 Grey Wolf 28BH
Blue Ox Sway Pro WDH
2 Beagles (Snoopy & Dexter)

Big Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.