Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2016, 12:07 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Electrical issue

Hopefully someone can help me.... I have been having some electrical issues on my 2013 Sierra 5er.... She's a 30 amp unit... With a 15amp - 8ga extension cord Plugged into a 30amp post... Seems like the voltage is low and nothing electrical will stay on or running.... If you press a button on the microwave... Turns off then back on again.... Checked the voltage to the fuse/circuit breakers inside the trailer and its 120v... Checked the neighbours post and he's having no issues... Same problem on my trailer... Anyone have any ideas what's going on?
__________________

__________________
Maxum81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 12:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 935
You say that you have 120 volts, Does it stay steady when you turn on a larger power load like the microwave or a toaster or hair dryer?
__________________

__________________
2015 T12RBST Flagstaff Hardside
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H
Bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 02:22 PM   #3
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,322
If you have a 15 amp extension cord it most likely isn't an 8ga cord. That thing would be huge.

You also don't say how long the cord is. My bet is that the cord isn't big enough to handle the load it's seeing when you try to run some of the higher draw appliances.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 08:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BDavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 141
Sounds like a cord issue. Would use a 30amp cord keeping the length under 30' for sure.
__________________
2016 Sandpiper 365asqb
2013 Rockwood Windjammer 3006W
2014 F250 6.7 PowerStroke 2wd
BDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 08:32 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,570
Is that a typo ( 15amp vs 15ft extension cord)? When is the last time it worked correctly? Possible a loose connection where power cord is connected to 5er. Make sure power is off and try to check that connection.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxum81 View Post
. With a 15amp - 8ga extension cord Plugged into a 30amp post... ?
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.