Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2013, 07:43 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
First-Rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Northwest Florida
Posts: 5
Electrical issue/ half power from ac

I have a 37RDQS CC and when I plugged into 50 amp electrical I could not get full power. No lights and frig will not stay on AC or gas. I have power to the microwave, outlets and a/c but nothing else. Tried resetting the breakers, unplugging and re-plugging. Does anyone know location of converter? Had transfer power ( DCO to AC) before but was able to get it switched over. Seem like I have half power and not fully transferred to ac. Every time you try a light it trips something. Any possible ideas.
__________________

__________________
First-Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:50 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by First-Rock View Post
I have a 37RDQS CC and when I plugged into 50 amp electrical I could not get full power. No lights and frig will not stay on AC or gas. I have power to the microwave, outlets and a/c but nothing else. Tried resetting the breakers, unplugging and re-plugging. Does anyone know location of converter? Had transfer power ( DCO to AC) before but was able to get it switched over. Seem like I have half power and not fully transferred to ac. Every time you try a light it trips something. Any possible ideas.
Converter should be in or behind distribution center.

What is your battery voltage?




Name:   19-0586-color.jpeg
Views: 92
Size:  30.0 KB


Turbs
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:53 AM   #3
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Try resetting all the gfci outlets.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 08:17 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
Try resetting all the gfci outlets.
Those wouldn't effect his lighting and 12v items tho right?
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 08:31 AM   #5
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Was thinking about the frig not working on ac and the converter not charging the batteries.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 08:34 AM   #6
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by First-Rock View Post
I have a 37RDQS CC and when I plugged into 50 amp electrical I could not get full power. No lights and frig will not stay on AC or gas. I have power to the microwave, outlets and a/c but nothing else. Tried resetting the breakers, unplugging and re-plugging. Does anyone know location of converter? Had transfer power ( DCO to AC) before but was able to get it switched over. Seem like I have half power and not fully transferred to ac. Every time you try a light it trips something. Any possible ideas.
Is the 50 amp power supply you are plugging into at a campground? If so, Have you tested the campground pedestal?

Since a 50 amp service has two 120 volt hot lines, it almost sounds like one of these hot lines isn't working.

This may help you to understand a 50 amp service:

http://www.myrv.us/electric/

This 50-amp service has 4 wires with two 120-volt HOT feeds. It is a misconception that this 50-amp RV service is something special. This service is a STANDARD 120/240 50-amp 3 pole with 4 prongs used for numerous applications.



From this common service we can draw 120 or 240 volts. Each leg is 50 amps @ 120 volts. 50-amp X 120-volt = 6000 watts. But since there are 2 HOT 120-volt legs at 6000 + 6000 = 12,000 watts to use in the RV or 50-amp X 240-volt = 12,000 watts when used as a 240-volt service.

Almost ALL 50-amp wired RV's use both sides of the service separately as 120 volt on each leg. Only a few mostly high-end coaches utilize the 240-volt from this same service.



The 50-amp 3-pole 4-wire service is superior to the 30-amp service because of the total amperage available.
30-amp 120-volt service = 3,600 watts
50-amp 120/240-volt service = 12,000 watts
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 08:45 AM   #7
Member
 
larrys2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Westlake, LA
Posts: 54
I can just about guarantee you that one leg of the 50 amp service you are plugged into is dead. I see this all the time at the RV park I manage. If you are at a park have them change the breaker in their pedestal and that should solve the problem.
__________________
2016 Rockwood Windjammer 3008W Diamond Package
2016 Toyota Tundra Double Cab 5.7L SR5 4x4
larrys2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 08:48 AM   #8
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
Is the 50 amp power supply you are plugging into at a campground? If so, Have you tested the campground pedestal?
First place to look. Test the Pedestal or have the campground test it if you don't have a way to do it.

Click image for larger version

Name:	$(KGrHqJHJCIE7y8Wf,coBPHJYG4HYg~~60_12.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	31902

50 amp receptacle will look like the cord end on the right. Take a voltage tester and insert the leads between the center slot [Neutral], not the round one [Ground] and one of the other slots to the side. You should read 120 volts and then test the other, it should read 120 volts as well. If all is well there, find the connection of the cord to the RV. Leave it unplugged and open the box where it connects. Look at the connections to be sure one hasn't come apart or fried from a loose connection.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 09:22 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
First-Rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Northwest Florida
Posts: 5
Unplugged everything and flipped all breakers. I also took out the battery (which I think was interfering with the feed somehow?) not sure which one of those things worked. But I am back to full power!! It's a mystery to me. I am going to get the battery checked. Thanks all u guys are great.
__________________
First-Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 09:51 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
You might want to look into a Progressive Industries 50 Amp Surge EMS-HW50C - Surge Protector . It would save you from dire consequences of mis-wired pedestals.

They also make a portable version of this.

BTW, Camping World is having a one-day 30% off sale on all surge protectors on June 6th.
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.