Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2013, 08:59 PM   #41
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Then can be all rusty and getting no power through as well.


Attachment 36281
There are two of these (25 amp written on the side), not resettable, on top of the battery connected to the positive post. They look to be in good condition.
Lesley.
__________________

__________________
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:08 PM   #42
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesley View Post

There are two of these (25 amp written on the side), not resettable, on top of the battery connected to the positive post. They look to be in good condition.
Lesley.
Check to see if you have 12v on both posts of each breaker.


Turbs
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 11:30 PM   #43
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Check to see if you have 12v on both posts of each breaker.


Turbs
I will do that. Thank you. Lesley.
__________________
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 12:17 AM   #44
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Check to see if you have 12v on both posts of each breaker.


Turbs
I just bought a multimeter and now I will have to learn how to use it.
Lesley.
__________________
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 09:30 AM   #45
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Set your meter to measure 25 volts DC- place the black negative probe to a clean area of the frame (-) and the red probe to each side of the fuse/circuit brk. Measure the side attached to the battery first, then the protected side. They shoud each measure 12-13 volts DC.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 01:00 PM   #46
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 13
The battery itself is testing at 12.33V. The 2 small rectangular fuses attached to the + post of the battery are reading 0. When I replace these, do I need to disconnect the battery?
I did replace the 30 amp fuse that is about 18" from the battery as it was blown.
Thank you, Lesley.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	battery 002.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	64.1 KB
ID:	36439   Click image for larger version

Name:	battery 001.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	62.2 KB
ID:	36440  
__________________
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 01:34 PM   #47
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesley View Post
The battery itself is testing at 12.33V. The 2 small rectangular fuses attached to the + post of the battery are reading 0. When I replace these, do I need to disconnect the battery?
I did replace the 30 amp fuse that is about 18" from the battery as it was blown.
Thank you, Lesley.
Probably don't need to but I would.


Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 06:04 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesley View Post
The battery itself is testing at 12.33V. The 2 small rectangular fuses attached to the + post of the battery are reading 0. When I replace these, do I need to disconnect the battery?
I did replace the 30 amp fuse that is about 18" from the battery as it was blown.
Thank you, Lesley.
Interesting arrangement. The bottom CB is connected in parallel to the top, but only the top side is used for load. The bottom is used as a buss bar but even if it opened nothing would change. You really only need to concentrate on the top brk with the wire attached. Connect your meter to (-) and the red lead to that circuit breaker both sides. You should have battery voltage on both terminals. Not sure why all the buss bars and two fuses, only one load coming from the lot! Good pics. BTW. The two leads to the left are unfused. Wiring may not be original.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 07:36 PM   #49
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post
Interesting arrangement. The bottom CB is connected in parallel to the top, but only the top side is used for load. The bottom is used as a buss bar but even if it opened nothing would change. You really only need to concentrate on the top brk with the wire attached. Connect your meter to (-) and the red lead to that circuit breaker both sides. You should have battery voltage on both terminals. Not sure why all the buss bars and two fuses, only one load coming from the lot! Good pics. BTW. The two leads to the left are unfused. Wiring may not be original.
I looked twice at that myself. I think the person who installed that arrangement did not have the correct fuses; but had a drawer full of the others. By paralleling them, the load across is shared equally (if they are the same size) and if one blew, the overload would certainly take out the other.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 11:29 PM   #50
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post
Interesting arrangement. The bottom CB is connected in parallel to the top, but only the top side is used for load. The bottom is used as a buss bar but even if it opened nothing would change. You really only need to concentrate on the top brk with the wire attached. Connect your meter to (-) and the red lead to that circuit breaker both sides. You should have battery voltage on both terminals. Not sure why all the buss bars and two fuses, only one load coming from the lot! Good pics. BTW. The two leads to the left are unfused. Wiring may not be original.
Is it possible to replace the two 25 amp circuit breakers with one 50 amp circuit breaker or should I keep it the way it is? By the way, the trailer is wired for 15 amps. I don't know if that makes a difference.
Lesley.
__________________

__________________
Lesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.