Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2015, 08:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
EMS-PT30C says I was drawing 39 amps???

Hi all,

Forgive me if I overlooked a similar topic when I searched the forum, but I'm curious about something I saw this weekend.

While my AC was running, along with an electric griddle and a few other things (microwave may or may not have been on -- can't remember), I went and peeked at the display on my ems-pt30c, and was surprised to see 39A -- i.e. 39 amps drawn at that time!

Now assuming I did not somehow see 29 and mistake it for 39 (always possible, even probable), wouldn't the 30a breaker on the inverter have blown? Presuming I saw what I thought I saw, would this indicate an overly "tolerant" breaker? Could the EMS unit be off somehow?

As an aside, I felt the cord, and it was warm, but not hot (I tried to buy a quality cord).

Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks,
John

p.s. The trailer's a 2015 Surveyor 245BHS, not that that should make a difference...
__________________

__________________
savedbygrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 08:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
davel1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seaford, De
Posts: 2,317
AC and griddle will put you in the upper 20s alone. Not knowing what else was really on, and you don't know if you even read it right, hard to answer
__________________

__________________
David & Lynn
2014 Coachmen Chaparral Signature 327 RLKS
2016 Ford F350 Lariat CC Dually
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 08:45 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Thanks for the reply! I'm reasonably sure it said 39, but I'm allowing for my misreading it -- what I'm most curious about is whether it's even possible for this to happen...
__________________
savedbygrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 08:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
KenHwy61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 716
It is possible to draw over the breaker rating for a short period of time. Your eyes may not have been playing tricks on you!
__________________

Seasonally in the Grand Marias, MN campground
On the beautiful shores of Lake Superior

Aviator Wright-Flyer#1908
2012 Ram 2500HD CTD
KenHwy61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 09:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
deartruc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Southern New England
Posts: 818
I've pushed my hw30 to where it was well over 30 amps at campgrounds that had rather trustworthy power. No pop in either the 30 amp post breaker nor the campers breakers.
__________________
2008 Dodge Durango
2015 Roo 23 ikss
deartruc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 09:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mud yapster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,162
I think breakers are + or - 15% so 30 amps X 15% = 34.5 amps. To know for sure what you are drawing you'll need to put an amp probe on it to check you amp draw. Breakers are in place to protect your wiring and they do fail. So I'd check your amp draw with a good meter and if it isn't tripping as designed get a new one from Lowe's or Home Depot and replace it, they aren't expensive. Better than having an electrical fire.
__________________
2014 Palomino Columbus 3650TH
435AH 12V VMax Charge Tanks, 520 watt Monocrystilline Solar Array, Morningstar MPPT TS-60 CC,Morningstar Remote,Cotek True Sine Wave Inverter,Cotek Remote Controller,50amp Progressive Hardwire Surge Protector
2015 Dodge 3500 6.7L 4X4
2011 CanAm Commander XT 1000
mud yapster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 11:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,319
I called PI for my hard wired unit for the same reason " high displayed amperage". Their response was that the reading (36 amps) is not an accurate reading and should not be used as a hard number. They just told me to check to see that I wired it correctly.

Um...there are only three wires and one is green!
__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 01:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by savedbygrace View Post
Hi all,

Forgive me if I overlooked a similar topic when I searched the forum, but I'm curious about something I saw this weekend.

While my AC was running, along with an electric griddle and a few other things (microwave may or may not have been on -- can't remember), I went and peeked at the display on my ems-pt30c, and was surprised to see 39A -- i.e. 39 amps drawn at that time!

Now assuming I did not somehow see 29 and mistake it for 39 (always possible, even probable), wouldn't the 30a breaker on the inverter have blown? Presuming I saw what I thought I saw, would this indicate an overly "tolerant" breaker? Could the EMS unit be off somehow?
Number one get an "Amprobe ' to get an accurate reading of voltage and amperage !...you mention ed cord was warm, was it just warm at the plug ? (at normal loads poor contact creates heat...which causes galvanic action and heat increases) Circuit breakers listed with underwriters lab are really guarrenteed to open under rated load only once unless marked "Switch duty" as on commercial 277 lighting panels. Circuit breakers are notorious for running long periods well over rated loads. You have far better control of loads using the variouse tpes of fuses available. Keep in mind that the camp receptacle you plugged into might not have voltage drop configured into the equation so you supply voltage could be down near 100 volts or up near 130. varying the voltage from low to high for a given load reduces current but can also damage equipment. just a little Alnox (oxide inhibiting compound) on RV supply cords can increase contact and reduce heat induction ! juice
As an aside, I felt the cord, and it was warm, but not hot (I tried to buy a quality cord).

Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks,
John

p.s. The trailer's a 2015 Surveyor 245BHS, not that that should make a difference...
I mistakenly put a reply in the middle of your request fo help
__________________
juice5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 03:58 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 42
Hi guys,
I have Prism 24G and want install EMS HW 30A.
Prism have receptacle as transfer switch, plug in shore power cable and use generator power, unplug shore power cable and plug at camp power box get commercial power.
EMS will be install in shore power cable and in case using one of each power sources I will be protected.
My question is, do I need install additional transfer switch or I can do that function plug in/plug out shore power cable from that receptacle by myself.
Thank you for suggestions or instructions.
__________________
Prism 24G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 03:59 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 42
Hi guys,
I have Prism 24G and want install EMS HW 30A.
Prism have receptacle as transfer switch, plug in shore power cable and use generator power, unplug shore power cable and plug at camp power box get commercial power.
EMS will be install in shore power cable and in case using one of each power sources I will be protected.
My question is, do I need install additional transfer switch or I can do that function plug in/plug out shore power cable from that receptacle by myself.
Thank you for suggestions or instructions.
__________________

__________________
Prism 24G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.