Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2016, 07:19 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 17
Extension Cord ?

This may be a stupid question, but I don't know so I am going to ask here...

If I need to add an extension cord from my 30amp cord that came with my R-Pod to my generator, do I need to have a 30 amp extension cord? Or will a 15amp be ok? How about if I plan to run the AC?

edit...

I just read that if I am using a 30AMP female to 15 amp male adapter, I should be ok with a 15amp extension cord. Is that correct?
__________________

__________________
mjh203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 07:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 367
I`d use the 30 amp cord not the 15 amp one if your going to run the ac. But then again I`m not into much electrical stuff.
__________________

__________________
Big Red and 30WR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 07:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 10,348
If your unit has a 30A Cord your Ext Cord also needs to be 30A if you are going to run your AC! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 07:46 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjh203 View Post

I just read that if I am using a 30AMP female to 15 amp male adapter, I should be ok with a 15amp extension cord. Is that correct?

This is OK if you are running lights and converter only. Definitely not OK for AC. Running high current items on an undersized extension can cause a fire.

As an analogy if you are trying to move a large object and you are using a 3000lb capacity chain that is not long enough. If you add a 1500lb capacity piece of chain to it to lengthen it, the strength of the chain is now less than 1500lbs.
You may eventually need an extension that can carry 30A so why not just get it now and be safe.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 65W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 07:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 353
If your generator is capable of starting your air conditioner, get another 25 foot 30 amp extension cord, it may come in handy at times.

If your generator is NOT capable of starting your air conditioner, no use spending the money on the 30 amp cord.

BTW it takes a whole lot more power starting that air conditioner than it does running it. both the generator and air conditioner should have their starting wattage listed somewhere. Make sure the generator has a minimum of a 10% safety zone, otherwise you will be shutting everything else off just to run the air conditioner.

Hope this helps. ShermanD
__________________
ShermanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.