Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2014, 09:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 53
Few out lets do not work

So i have a heater in the trailer for winter and i have a wireless thermostat setup with it and i noticed was getting pretty cold in the trailer so i went to go turn the heater up a notch and noticed it want making any noise so i thought heater was bad, checked few other outlets and they were not working, but the TV outlet and microwave has power, forgot to check the bathroom outlet.. but anyway i have atleast 4 outlets that do not work i think the one by the sink was a GFCI but doesnt reset like a house one..

Checked the fuses and the breakers all looked good, so what do you guys think is wrong?

Thinking about it there may be a GFCI reset in the bathroom and of course i diddnt check there
__________________

__________________
Deeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 10:17 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,469
My vote's for the bathroom one. In our TT the kitchen outlets are GFI'd off the bathroom one. Seems weird but I guess running the circuit all over is cheaper than a second GFI.
__________________

__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk, unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 10:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,476
.. but anyway i have atleast 4 outlets that do not work i think the one by the sink was a GFCI but doesnt reset like a house one..

?? I think they are like house ones. If it won't reset or trip (test button) then there is no power going to it. Have you checked the breaker panel. We kept blowing our 20 amp fuse when using our 1500 watt electric heater and would forget to turn it off before making coffee or using the microwave. Sounds like you might have 2 20 amp circuites. Check the breaker panel
__________________
2016 Siverback 33IK
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Super Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 10:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaadk View Post
My vote's for the bathroom one. In our TT the kitchen outlets are GFI'd off the bathroom one. Seems weird but I guess running the circuit all over is cheaper than a second GFI.
Kaadk, you never put more than one GFI on a circuit or they will might fight each other and continually trip when there is no ground fault. One GFI will protect all the circuits connected to it ( if it is installed correctly).
__________________
2016 Siverback 33IK
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Super Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 10:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
onetonford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 627
My Fiver has two gfci's one is in the bathroom next to mirror and the other is under the cabinets in the kitchen area. one controls one side of trailer and the other one controls the rest. check yours it is possibly the same way....
__________________

2001 Ford F-350 DRW 7.3
2011 25 RL Wildcat
former fiver 1976 Fourwinds had for 35 years
onetonford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 12:22 AM   #6
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalford View Post
Kaadk, you never put more than one GFI on a circuit or they will might fight each other and continually trip when there is no ground fault. One GFI will protect all the circuits connected to it ( if it is installed correctly).

Yeah, I know. What I don't understand is why they put it all on one circuit to began with. I would have done at least two circuits, one for kitchen, one for bath. Or at least one for port and one for starboard.
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk, unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 05:01 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaadk View Post
Yeah, I know. What I don't understand is why they put it all on one circuit to began with. I would have done at least two circuits, one for kitchen, one for bath. Or at least one for port and one for starboard.
I just had the same problem, In my unit they have 2 15 amp breakers for all the outlets. On 1 that keeps tripping I found the Refer, TV, the outside outlet and 6 plain duplex outlets on the 15 amp circuit. The bath, bedroom and basement was on the second. Each has a GFI in each section. To make it even worst they doubled the 1st 15 amp and connected my converter to that breaker, that is against code to use two wires in 1 breaker. The thing that makes me mad is that I still had room for 2 more breakers in the panel. So I added a breaker for the converter to atleast separate that. If you have a volt meter check to see that you are getting 110v at the breaker first, then if you are check it at the GFI either at you kitchen area or in the bathroom. If your GFI will not reset it is bad. Hope it helps. Sometimes a breaker will look fine but it has tripped, so make sure you turn them off and back on again. You can look up a thread named 110 volt labels and see what I found and posted. When I called FR for a diagram, they said they do not have one it depends on who is on the production line that day doing the wiring.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:21 PM   #8
Member
 
just.a.jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 31
I had a GFI that wouldn't reset. Traced everything and found that a junction box under the slide had water in it. Cleared the water and all was well.
__________________
2014 Cedar Creek 36CKTS 2012 Dodge Ram 3500 LARAMIE
just.a.jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
BillyBass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brownsville
Posts: 593
You may have a loose connection in the fuse box that happen to me and when I pull out the breaker I found a loose wire.Which it wouldnt let me reset the gfi that in the bath until I tighten it. good luck
__________________
2012 21' FR Micro Lite FBRS
2005 GMC Sierra 1500
2012 24 nites 2016 16 nites
2013 25 nites 2017 19 nites
2014 14 nites
2015 16 nites
BillyBass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 05:02 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 53
The snow stopped and i had time to check the trailer and the bathroom GFCI was tripped and i rest it and everything is working!

then i noticed the snow must of broke the bathroom vent cover, so now i need to find that part and replace it lol..

Anyway thanks guys!
__________________

__________________
Deeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.