Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2014, 09:02 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
iowaborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 291
Fireplace shuts off when using microwave

No real question here, unless someone has already experienced this and found a fix. This phenomenon just came to light during the Smokie Mountain Jamboree Rally, because it was the first time this replacement fireplace was used. The fireplace works just fine, but if the microwave is started, something trips in the fireplace circuitry and it shuts off. It acts like a over temperature sensor cause it takes some time before it will work again. The fireplace is supposed to be on its own breaker and no breakers trip so this problem will take a little effort to troubleshoot. One more thing to do when we get home.
__________________

__________________
2013 F-250 CrewCab 6.7 PowerStroke 4X4
2014 8528RSWS
iowaborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
davel1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seaford, De
Posts: 2,317
didn't happen with last fireplace? Same fireplace make/model?
__________________

__________________
David & Lynn
2014 Coachmen Chaparral Signature 327 RLKS
2016 Ford F350 Lariat CC Dually
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 03:00 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
heavynlori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,066
Our Laredo was set up with a kill switch to disable the microwave when using fireplace....kind of annoying but it was only 30amp setup

Switch was on wall right next to fireplace so you could not forget

New Crusader has 50amp and we can use everything at same time now - still have to get used to not thinking about that switch


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
heavynlori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 07:07 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 218
My 2015 Windjammer 3008 is doing the same thing. Going to dealer in a couple of weeks and hope to find out why.
__________________
Carrier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 10:17 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 95
probably pulling more load than 30 amps I have to shut off fireplace before starting microwave or fireplace will shut off
__________________
Rockwood 8282 WS
2012 F-250 6.2
farfetched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 03:21 PM   #6
Dazed & Confused
 
M&K Hoffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NW PA
Posts: 348
It is supposed to and the relay that does it is mounted in the space behind the converter. (In a 3008W anyway.) A couple of minutes after the microwave shuts off, you can hear the relay reset with a click. Running both the microwave and the fireplace would put the amp load very near 30 amps and by code a circuit can only be loaded intentionally to 80% continuous load.
__________________
~Mike & Kim~
2014 Rockwood Windjammer 3008W Diamond Package
2012 Toyota Tundra Doublecab 5.7 4WD
M&K Hoffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 12:50 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
JonClark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 174
I have a 2014 320bhds and had same problem. Found out the genius that wired the camper at the factory put the microwave and fireplace on the same circuit.
__________________
JonClark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 06:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
iowaborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEHoffman View Post
It is supposed to and the relay that does it is mounted in the space behind the converter. (In a 3008W anyway.) A couple of minutes after the microwave shuts off, you can hear the relay reset with a click. Running both the microwave and the fireplace would put the amp load very near 30 amps and by code a circuit can only be loaded intentionally to 80% continuous load.
I guess that makes sense, but I would like to determine how the relay is wired and what it is monitoring because only the fireplace shuts off. The fireplace draws 6 amp on low and the microwave draws 15 amp. If it is monitoring the total draw at the main that is close to 80%. The water heater draws 11 amp so I will have to check what the relay does if the water heater is heating while the microwave is running cause that would be over the allowed 80%.
__________________
2013 F-250 CrewCab 6.7 PowerStroke 4X4
2014 8528RSWS
iowaborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 06:44 PM   #9
Dazed & Confused
 
M&K Hoffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NW PA
Posts: 348
I am also "Iowa born" and bred. I use the name Iowachild after this poem on the Tractorbynet.com forum. BTW I am only guessing the code is why they did that, I could be wrong, but the relay is mounted behind my converter and I just had to figure out what it did!
__________________
~Mike & Kim~
2014 Rockwood Windjammer 3008W Diamond Package
2012 Toyota Tundra Doublecab 5.7 4WD
M&K Hoffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 07:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 41
We also have a 2014 FR Flagstaff 5th wheel 8528IKWS and it does exactly the same thng. There is a separate breaker labelled "Microwave" but none labelled "Fireplace" so with only 30 amp hook-up they can only use so much AC at any given time and the explanation about the relay to defeat the fireplace upon using the microwave makes sense. At least it is self resetting!
__________________

__________________
jz5w63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.