Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2012, 12:21 PM   #1
IT Guru
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 106
Send a message via AIM to jsilvius Send a message via Skype™ to jsilvius
Question Generator Connection

I did a bit of searching and didn't see this anywhere so I figured I'd ask.
Does anyone have a "pig tail" or adapter for their RV that connects to a four prong locking outlet on a generator?

I've been looking to see if I can find an adapter of some sort for our generator.
It has a 240/120v 4 prong locking plug on the front of it, and I want to see if it will provide the 30AMP I need to run the camper when we loose power like we did this past weekend due to the storms in the area.

Two days with 105 degree temps (110 heat index) with no power is not good for me, DW, DS or the dogs. We were able to use the generator with a couple of 110 extension cords to run the fridges and a couple of fans, but it would have been great to hook up the Camper and have had some AC atleast for trying to sleep at night.

Thanks for any assistance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0630121319b.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	16011  
__________________

__________________

2006 Flagstaff 831FKSS
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 SLT 5.9L Turbo Diesel Quad Cab
1 - DH (me); 1 - DW (Tee); 1 - DS (Jarod, 12)
Nights Camping: 2010 - 15; 2011 - 7; 2012 - 9
jsilvius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 06:39 PM   #2
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,235
the adapter should be available many places. i've seen them at Walmart and Camping World. any RV parts place would have them.
__________________

__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 06:49 PM   #3
Member
 
frankm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikendan
the adapter should be available many places. i've seen them at Walmart and Camping World. any RV parts place would have them.
Hmmm are we sure about that? That generator plug isn't a 50amp 120v RV plug but a 240v plug. That could do quite a bit of damage to your trailer. I think.

Update: Let me clarify what I'm trying to say. Any adapter used would need to either split the two hots or isolate (disconnect) one. Wiring it any other way would be dangerous.
__________________
Frank & Rita M
2016 Ford F-150 XLT Ecoboost
2017 Rockwood 2703WS
frankm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 09:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Bennington Camper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southern VT
Posts: 90
What is the wattage of the generator?
__________________
**************************
Glenn - KA2DTH
2007 Chevy Express 1500 AWD
2005 Surveyor SV-230
Bennington Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 10:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Twisty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,138
It looks like a L14-30?

http://www.amazon.com/Socket-NEMA-L1.../dp/B001TQAODC

My gen uses a 55333 RV 30 Amp Generator Adapter.
__________________
FOR SALE 2014 BOSS 6.2L F350
2012 Surveyor SV264
NW Oregon
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 11:39 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Guys that is a 120v / 240 volt connector.
It has a floating neutral so it can run a 120v or 240 volt.

IT WILL NOT RUN A/C VERY GOOD.
Its only rated 30 amp at 240 so that means 15 amp at 120.

Trust me on this one.
I had to have my gennie rewired that had that same plug. I had them remove it and install a 30 amp rv plug.

Do not try to wire an adapter for 30 amp rv.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 03:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Blackrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE Arizona's Gila Vally
Posts: 689
You should be able to get the twist-lok adapter at any RV parts place. That's where I got mine for my Honda Generator setup. Then you can just plug in your main 30 amp cord to it.
__________________
Blackrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 03:53 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackrock
You should be able to get the twist-lok adapter at any RV parts place. That's where I got mine for my Honda Generator setup. Then you can just plug in your main 30 amp cord to it.
It won't work

First of all its not a honda.
Second that outlet is most likely rated for 30 amps at 240v which he has no use for in a camper. On the 120 side of that outlet your only going to get at the most 15 amps.
Not enough to power an a/c let along much else.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 04:26 PM   #9
Too old to be too smart
 
SpringerPop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: La La Land
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
It won't work

First of all its not a honda.
Second that outlet is most likely rated for 30 amps at 240v which he has no use for in a camper. On the 120 side of that outlet your only going to get at the most 15 amps.
Ron, please explain your thinking.

If the 240-volt circuit is good for 30-amps on both legs, for a total of 7200 VA, why then, would using only one leg not have the full 30-amps still available to it? Even though this is only 3600 VA, it should still be enough to run the A/C unit.

Why are you cutting the 120-volt wattage into a quarter, when it should only be divided by two?

Pop
__________________
2005 Terry 250RKS, perfect for the two of us and the pups.
It recently replaced our Flagstaff 21FB (which we still have)

2000 F-350 7.3L CC/LB 4WD Lariat 3.73's
SpringerPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 04:38 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpringerPop
Ron, please explain your thinking.

If the 240-volt circuit is good for 30-amps on both legs, for a total of 7200 VA, why then, would using only one leg not have the full 30-amps still available to it? Even though this is only 3600 VA, it should still be enough to run the A/C unit.

Why are you cutting the 120-volt wattage into a quarter, when it should only be divided by two?

Pop
I have/had this same connection on my honeywell generator. Which is 6875 surge and 5500 running watts.
When they wire these units with a floating neutral so that you can run 220v or 120v from the same plug in they reduce amps from the 220v 30 amp rated use to about 15 amps on the 120v side.

I took it to a generator expert because it would not run my a/c .
After testing it he said the way they wire that plug to run 220/110 there's not enough amps on the 120 side.

$200.00 later he rewired mine and took that hookie dual volt receptical out and installed a 30 amp rv in its place.
Now I have a full 30 amps 120v but no 220 volt.

We tried to wire an adapter from the 4 prong to the rv connector and it did work but only had 15 amps available.
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.