Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2015, 10:02 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 87
Generator grounding

What does everybody do with their portable generators to ground them? A wire with a metal pole in the ground? You don't worry about it? Or is it more complicated? I don't want to over think this, but at same time don't wanna mess anything up.
__________________

__________________
LSUTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 10:33 PM   #2
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSUTiger View Post
What does everybody do with their portable generators to ground them? A wire with a metal pole in the ground? You don't worry about it? Or is it more complicated? I don't want to over think this, but at same time don't wanna mess anything up.
Just use it..... do you have a hard wired surge protector?
__________________

__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 10:40 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,602
Don't need one as long as wiring is intact/done properly and GFCI is in use for external cords etc.
__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 11:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: crete,il /texas
Posts: 383
I was told ,according to previous forum posts, external grounding is not nessary
__________________
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 11:08 PM   #5
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bill View Post
I was told ,according to previous forum posts, external grounding is not nessary
It isn't....... but if you have a hardwired progessive surge protector and it's located in a hard to reach location, has a by-pass switch/button, there is a simple grounding plug one needs to make the gen. power up the rv.
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 11:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 87
Generator grounding

I have a portable surge protector and it gave me a grounding error so then I came on here to ask some questions.
__________________
LSUTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 11:15 PM   #7
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSUTiger View Post
I have a portable surge protector and it gave me a grounding error so then I came on here to ask some questions.
It's been a while since I made the plug, but go to the search button area and type in portable gen grounding....or go into the mods area and scroll thru there. What type of gen?
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 05:23 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob caldwell View Post
It's been a while since I made the plug, but go to the search button area and type in portable gen grounding....or go into the mods area and scroll thru there. What type of gen?
Do one of those plug and you will be fine.

Generator Ground-Neutral Bonding | No~Shock~Zone
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 08:08 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 98
There is a ground point on your gen that you should connect a ground wire too and then to a grounded structure/ ground rod (water pipe, metal pole...). If not then your GFCI will not work as there is no reference for the protection,
__________________

2015 Siera 377FLIK
2014 Ford F350 KR
Molly the new Chihuahua
Cricket the Chihuahua RIP
Steve & Jojo
stevewise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 08:23 AM   #10
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevewise View Post
There is a ground point on your gen that you should connect a ground wire too and then to a grounded structure/ ground rod (water pipe, metal pole...). If not then your GFCI will not work as there is no reference for the protection,
See Fonzie's above link.
__________________

__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.