Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2016, 09:24 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 84
GFCI Wont Reset

The GFCI outlet in the bathroom popped and that outlet, one in the kitchen and our micinrowave all went out. I've pushed the reset button but it's not resetting. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Fred & Christine
2013 Columbus 320RS
2016 F250 Lariat 4X4 Short Bed
2015 Nights Camped 72
2016 42
2017 15 so far
Fred and Christine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 09:34 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred and Christine View Post
The GFCI outlet in the bathroom popped and that outlet, one in the kitchen and our micinrowave all went out. I've pushed the reset button but it's not resetting. Any ideas?
If the fault that caused it to pop has not been found and fixed it will not reset, it is doing its job of keeping you safe. The other possibility (less likely) is the GFCI itself went bad. I would first unplug everything that may be on that circuit and see if it resets. If it resets begin plugging things back in until it pops again. If it won't reset when everything is off the circuit you will have to find the problem. It could be a chaffed wire, a loose connection, a screw in the wire, any number of things. Good luck.
__________________

__________________
limblips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 09:49 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
chrisbailey13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 482
Try turning off the breaker to that outlet and reset the outlet....then turn the breaker back on....if it pops when the breaker is turned back on then there is a fault somewhere in the circuit that needs to be fixed.


If it still won't reset with the breaker off, it is possible the outlet is bad and needs to be replaced. I have had it happen a couple of times at home in a bathroom GFCI.
__________________
2014 Georgetown XL 352QS
2013-2017 Days Camped-215
chrisbailey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 10:04 AM   #4
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,321
When you press the reset button does it click and then pop right back out?
If it doesn't click at all, that's a sign that it's not trying to reset and the gfci is probably bad.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 10:15 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 84
Thanks for the great advise, this morning with the trainer in storage and not connected to power I tried the reset again and it would not reset. I think I replace the GFCI. Can I get this at Lowes or do I need to go to CW for an RV GFCI?
__________________
Fred & Christine
2013 Columbus 320RS
2016 F250 Lariat 4X4 Short Bed
2015 Nights Camped 72
2016 42
2017 15 so far
Fred and Christine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 10:24 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred and Christine View Post
Thanks for the great advise, this morning with the trainer in storage and not connected to power I tried the reset again and it would not reset. I think I replace the GFCI. Can I get this at Lowes or do I need to go to CW for an RV GFCI?
Lowes, HD or any hardware store but you may want to remove the original to see if it is one of the slim ones. They make a slimmer one for use where space is limited (like in a wall in an RV)!
__________________
limblips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 10:24 AM   #7
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Mark the wires and take it to Lowes and get a replacement. Factory furnished outlets and breakers are junk.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 01:25 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 6,238
Seems like I remember that tripped GFCI outlets had to have power to reset. Did I dream that? (Easy, now!)
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49 / '14 = 74 / '15 = 74 / '16 = 85 / '17 = 110 / '18 = 0; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 02:23 PM   #9
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,321
I don't think you dreamed it. Most models of wire-in gfci's have to have power to reset. Most plug in models don't. However there are exceptions to both.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 05:36 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 84
Replaced the GFCI and headed out to the lake for the weekend. Hooked the 5er up to power hit the reset and the vacuum came on. Almost messed my shorts. Everything is working again. Thank you for all the help. This forum is the best.
__________________

__________________
Fred & Christine
2013 Columbus 320RS
2016 F250 Lariat 4X4 Short Bed
2015 Nights Camped 72
2016 42
2017 15 so far
Fred and Christine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 AM.