Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2014, 11:30 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 27
Thanks for catching that Tim!!
__________________

__________________
Bmbrady77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 12:04 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmbrady77 View Post
Thanks for catching that Tim!!
You are welcome. We electrical guys know, but others may need a little clarification.

Tim
__________________

__________________
Healeyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 05:49 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
RPAspey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: central PA
Posts: 973
DUH, a simple jumper between the ground lug and the negative wire.



The reason for the external ground is that there are certain electrical installations where the battery negative may not be bonded to the vehicle frame or the inverter is used without a vehicle.

BTW, you shouldn't ground the "neutral" of the inverter. Its not like a neutral in a house that is already bonded to ground.
__________________
2000 Cherokee 29BH with 6V batteries, LED lights & 400 watts of solar power, flipped axles and raised. 2007 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB with lots of mods. C-co, 8/158th AVN Maint.
RPAspey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 07:23 AM   #14
Member
 
Puzzlme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 90
Okay, I'm thinking that 14 gauge wire will be too large in diameter to connect to the wing and then be inserted into the outlet.
__________________
Puzzlme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 07:39 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Here is installation manual......
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Inverter GoPro.pdf (748.8 KB, 45 views)
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 08:42 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puzzlme View Post
Okay, I'm thinking that 14 gauge wire will be too large in diameter to connect to the wing and then be inserted into the outlet.
No no no. Don't do that! Either cut the plug's black wire like I stated or connect the 14ga to the negative wire on the SOCKET (behind the wall). Don't try to shove anything into the socket with the plug. You can break the socket.
__________________
Bmbrady77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 10:08 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
RPAspey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: central PA
Posts: 973
Reading the instructions, section 4.4, ..."chasis is ground to negative input" by reading this I'd say don't worry about grounding the inverter.

Something else, on my Inverters, both say "Do not ground the neutral" but in your manual, it says they are bonded in the case. Humm.
__________________
2000 Cherokee 29BH with 6V batteries, LED lights & 400 watts of solar power, flipped axles and raised. 2007 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB with lots of mods. C-co, 8/158th AVN Maint.
RPAspey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 10:32 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 571
Dont cut anything, as stated above if its DC, case of the inverter is already grounded/hooked up to negative terminal. If it was going into a house with ac, then you would need to ground it with the ac circuit.
__________________
Kuba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 10:36 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuba View Post
Dont cut anything, as stated above if its DC, case of the inverter is already grounded/hooked up to negative terminal. If it was going into a house with ac, then you would need to ground it with the ac circuit.
A little confused by your comments here Kuba...If it was going into a house with A/C....WHY would you need an inverter??
__________________
Bmbrady77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 10:47 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 571
Backup power for home appliances etc. For example if you had a bunch of car batteries and wanted an inverter to run any home appliances of the batteries in case power goes out(110-120v AC). You are good to go and have nothing to worry about.
__________________

__________________
Kuba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.