Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2014, 03:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Auto4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lanesboro, Ma
Posts: 74
Help

While plugging my camper into shore power at my home I heard a pop and smoke began coming out of the plug. This was 15 amp to 30 amp. I've done this same routine hundreds of times in the past.

I don't think it's the 15 amp extension cord because it works when plugged into other things. I don't think it's the 30 amp extension because I can plug that into the 15 amp cord without issue. It's only when everything is hooked up to the camper that I have issues.

What is causing this to happen??????
__________________

__________________
Auto4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 03:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Shut all your breakers inside the camper. Hook up everything outside. Close main AC breaker, if OK then close other breakers one at a time. You might have too much load at once and it overloads 15 amps receptacle??
__________________

__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 03:17 PM   #3
Site Team
 
dcheatwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzie View Post
Shut all your breakers inside the camper. Hook up everything outside. Close main AC breaker, if OK then close other breakers one at a time. You might have too much load at once and it overloads 15 amps receptacle??

This is a good initial step. keep us informed.
__________________
2013 Rockwood 8282WS
Reese Revolution Pin, Reese 16K
2008 Tundra Limited Double Cab 5.7L
Air Lift 5000 w/Wireless Air

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 04:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Auto4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lanesboro, Ma
Posts: 74
Well that worked. Like I said before. I've done this 100 times in the past and have never had this issue. I turned off all the breakers and tuned them on one at a time starting with the 30 amp then the two 20 amps then the 15 amps and sure enough it worked. Thank you very much. I was in a panic mode considering we're going camping on Wednesday. This forum is awesome.
__________________
Auto4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 04:25 PM   #5
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Check your water heater. You may have left it on AC from your trip.

1500 watts is 12.5 amps all by itself.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.