Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2016, 07:22 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
PokerDealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NowthWest
Posts: 126
TM/SC 2030 75 watt flexible panels

I completed my set up for the electrical/solar provider monitor. I brought the connection in from the batteries to a pre-wired board, then on to the rest of the TT. I'm still w8n4 two 75 watt Lensun flexible panels and 30ft of extension cable. Any suggestions or ideas are appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160627_103045.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	281.1 KB
ID:	112525   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160627_103114.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	275.3 KB
ID:	112526   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160627_103131.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	270.8 KB
ID:	112527   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160627_103247.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	214.6 KB
ID:	112528   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160504_083031.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	240.6 KB
ID:	112529  

__________________

__________________
2015 Wildwood 181 BHXL. 2005 1500 Ram Hemi 4x4 W/package
PokerDealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 09:11 AM   #22
Member
 
friendofacatahoula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 86
Nice installation.


I opted to not add any additional holes to my roof or sidewalls. The only hole I added was in the floor to run the cabling to the batteries. I am also not running a large inverter.


My 10 awg I ran down the channeling for my power awning. It has a cover the slides over to hide the wires and was already being used to run the awning power.

My monitor I installed in my AV cabinet. My existing control center for the trailer is at the back door and I didn't want to run the wires all the way back there and wanted to keep a simple clean look but still have the monitor in an easy spot to view.

I thought I had a photo of the charge controller location with the shunt and breakers mounted but I guess I didn't take one. I have a similar board with everything mounted. It lives in my front pass through close to the access door. Everything is protected with loom and cable ties.



__________________

__________________
friendofacatahoula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 08:05 AM   #23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottBrownstein View Post
First, you can leave the WFCO or replace it with a PD unit as it has nothing to do with the SC2030 charge controller from Bogart. The 2030 positive lead goes to the battery positive and the negative lead goes to the chassis, just like the negative lead of the WFCO does. You can put the positive lug on the battery controller post that goes to the positive battery post, or you can run it directly to the battery positive post. Put a 30 amp fuse in the positive line from the SC2030 to the battery, since the 2030 cannot put out more than 20 amps anyway. The shunt goes between the battery common negative and the chassis ground. The sense wire to the TM goes on the battery side of the shunt and the two negative leads go on the shut post toward the chassis.

If you install the controller this way, the SC2030 will be able to charge your batteries regardless of whether the disconnect is on or off, unlike the WFCO which won't do anything with the disconnect off.

If you order the right length of #10 PV wire, you can run from the panels to the SC2030 directly, without the need for special connectors. However, most panels come with special solar connectors and you can get adaptors that will parallel both panels without any terminal strips. Many panels come with MC-4 solar connectors and you can just buy PV wire with the required connectors already attached. You can also get parallel adapters that will allow you to parallel two panels without resorting to 4 wires going down from the roof.

Take a look at Amazon https://www.amazon.com/HQRP-T-branch...=1&*entries*=0

Check what your panels have before you order the wire and connectors. Put a 30 amp fuse and fuse holder in the panel feed down from the roof to the SC2030.

"Put a 30 amp fuse in the positive line from the SC2030 to the battery, since the 2030 cannot put out more than 20 amps anyway." Simply put the SC2030 is a 31 amp controller. Read the Manuel. If you are only putting up two panels I would not bother with a fuse on the panel side.
__________________
Grizzzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 11:43 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
PokerDealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NowthWest
Posts: 126
Awesome, that was the last loose end. Still w8n on the fancy new panels but plugged into AC at home, testing, monitoring the fridge. It's to temp, (just water bottles for now) . Just switched over to propane .. see if it keeps up, and at what cost (battery wise) thanks again.
__________________
2015 Wildwood 181 BHXL. 2005 1500 Ram Hemi 4x4 W/package
PokerDealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 04:33 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
PokerDealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NowthWest
Posts: 126
Thanks Grizz, I've got the 30 amp in place from the battery the controller. Two 75 watt lightweight solar panels are on the way, they are flexible, heck you can even walk on them with soft shoes. I ordered the 5 meter extension that comes with MC 4 clips. The only thing I'm going to do is make a stub that will go from the SC 2030, out through the top of the waterproof box with the Temp sensor and end with a secure clip, maybe 2 feet. That way I can store the panels in the back of the truck padded bag and just put them on my homemade rack and place/adjust them as needed thanks for the advice.....
__________________
2015 Wildwood 181 BHXL. 2005 1500 Ram Hemi 4x4 W/package
PokerDealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 08:43 PM   #26
Member
 
friendofacatahoula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 86
The SC2030 is a 30amp controller fyi.

-Up to 30 amps maximum solar current. Charger will safely reduce output if panel current exceeds 31 amps.
__________________
friendofacatahoula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 09:17 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by friendofacatahoula View Post
The SC2030 is a 30amp controller fyi.

-Up to 30 amps maximum solar current. Charger will safely reduce output if panel current exceeds 31 amps.
Here is what Ralph Hiesey has to say (Engineer,Founder and owner of Bogart Engineering)

"
C4. What happens if my panels try to put more than 30 amps with your SC-2030, 30 amp Solar Charger? Will that damage it? Click for answer
No, it will not. Incidentally, it is actually a 31 amp charger. If you try to put in more than 31 amps it will limit the current to protect itself. So it is OK to use panels that normally have a maximum of about 30 amps or even more, but which may occasionally exceed that if cloud effects on a very sunny day cause the amps to go higher.
When that happens the amber light on the charger will flash twice per second to let you know. But if you try to exceed 31 amps, it will not just limit the amps to 31. In order to safely protect the charger, it will limit it to slightly LESS than 31 amps, according to this formula:
A= (31*31)/P = 961/P.
A=Amps into battery,
P=Amps panels try to put into charger when greater than 31 amps.
But you needn't be concerned that this will damage the SC-2030. If you try to use panels that very commonly go over 31 amps, you won't hurt the SC2030, but you will be losing some solar energy whenever that happens because it will be putting in LESS than 31 amps, however it won't be much less so long as the panels don't go much above 31 amps."

It's not often that the owner takes the time to answer "many" E-mail" questions before I purchased his system. A great guy to be sure. Forums are great but.............
__________________
Grizzzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 02:13 AM   #28
Member
 
friendofacatahoula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizzzman View Post
Here is what Ralph Hiesey has to say (Engineer,Founder and owner of Bogart Engineering)

"
C4. What happens if my panels try to put more than 30 amps with your SC-2030, 30 amp Solar Charger? Will that damage it? Click for answer
No, it will not. Incidentally, it is actually a 31 amp charger. If you try to put in more than 31 amps it will limit the current to protect itself. So it is OK to use panels that normally have a maximum of about 30 amps or even more, but which may occasionally exceed that if cloud effects on a very sunny day cause the amps to go higher.
When that happens the amber light on the charger will flash twice per second to let you know. But if you try to exceed 31 amps, it will not just limit the amps to 31. In order to safely protect the charger, it will limit it to slightly LESS than 31 amps, according to this formula:
A= (31*31)/P = 961/P.
A=Amps into battery,
P=Amps panels try to put into charger when greater than 31 amps.
But you needn't be concerned that this will damage the SC-2030. If you try to use panels that very commonly go over 31 amps, you won't hurt the SC2030, but you will be losing some solar energy whenever that happens because it will be putting in LESS than 31 amps, however it won't be much less so long as the panels don't go much above 31 amps."

It's not often that the owner takes the time to answer "many" E-mail" questions before I purchased his system. A great guy to be sure. Forums are great but.............

Not sure what you are getting at? Someone above said it was a 20 amp controller. I just added that it is a 30, or 31 as per Ralph.

Talked to Ralph a lot myself
__________________
friendofacatahoula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 08:17 AM   #29
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by friendofacatahoula View Post
Not sure what you are getting at? Someone above said it was a 20 amp controller. I just added that it is a 30, or 31 as per Ralph.

Talked to Ralph a lot myself
Sorry I assumed (we all know what that gets ya) That you were disputing the 31 amp comment
__________________
Grizzzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 09:27 PM   #30
Member
 
friendofacatahoula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizzzman View Post
Sorry I assumed (we all know what that gets ya) That you were disputing the 31 amp comment
Ah, nope, not sure where that was conveyed.

But anyhow, its a long weekend here and I am working. Hope to have my replacement controller which is not a Bogart installed on Monday and I can check out everything then.

Then off for a 10 day trip and will really be able to test my set up.

Thanks for all the help.
__________________

__________________
2015 MiniLite 2109S
2016 Ram 3500 6.7
friendofacatahoula is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
solar

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.