Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2013, 07:29 AM   #31
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post

Thanks, Tired - bad day.
I will post after I get some rest.
What the ?

This isn't right!
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 09:44 AM   #32
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
Sorry for the hijack David; it was after 9 before I got into a spot at the KOA and was beat. Bad day - Herk

Did you isolate the circuit that is pulling more amps than the generator can deliver?
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 09:51 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
No worries. No I ended up st the dealer as they feel I have a sticky compressor. Being that the rv is only a week old they are going to do the dirty work. I was trying to make sure I wasn't doing something stupid as a rookie. Thanks to all who helped I've never been part of a forum where everyone was this helpful
__________________
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 07:50 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Update. So I'm more being told that my ac unit if a 15k btu unit. Then they told me my 3500 continuous watt 4000 surge is not enough. Never mind the tried to sell me two 2k and a parallel kit. So I asked why whey I plugged into my friends 5500 continuous watt genny it still topped the breaker. The tech tried telling me he tested it on a larger genny for 4 hours. Then finally admitted he had it hooked to shore power. So he lied. One week it's been there and no answer so another weekend without using it. I can say my first taste of ownership is not a pleasant one
__________________
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:12 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
They need to install a "soft-start" kit into the AC. Perhaps that will allow it to work.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:20 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Not sure on your AC model or genny type but my Champion 3500/4000 runs my 15k ac with no issues.

Does it trip when you just run the fan and not turn it to cool (when the AC compressor kicks in)?
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:31 PM   #37
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Fan delay mod would help to.

Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:35 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCCowboy View Post
Not sure on your AC model or genny type but my Champion 3500/4000 runs my 15k ac with no issues.

Does it trip when you just run the fan and not turn it to cool (when the AC compressor kicks in)?
I have the same genny as you. When I set it to cool the fan runs for a few seconds or so then it trips the breaker . I'm guessing when the compressor kicks in
__________________
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:41 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by david155 View Post

I have the same genny as you. When I set it to cool the fan runs for a few seconds or so then it trips the breaker . I'm guessing when the compressor kicks in
What happens when you run the fan only?
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:51 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCCowboy View Post

What happens when you run the fan only?
It just runs and runs.
__________________

__________________
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.