Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2013, 07:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
help with circuit

I'm having issues with a 2013 vengance 25v with 50 amp. Everytime i plug it to the genny it trips the breaker on the genny. I have everything off in the trailer it runs fine. Flip on just the ac and it comes on runs about a minute then kicks out. I have the 50 - 30 amp reducer to plug into the genny. I'm using a champion 4000/3500 with the 30amp rv plug built in. I Moved the genny to my buddies trailer it ran everything fine. Put 6500 on Mine same thing. My trailer is 1 week old. When I did my wall thru it was plugged into the wall at the dealers so everything was fine. Is there some stupid rookie mistake I'm making. Seen several people using this same genny go run their toyhaulers.
__________________

__________________
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 08:08 PM   #2
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,773
Do you have an EMS installed? If so, have you tried bypassing it?

Otherwise, I'd try to turn all of the breakers off inside of the camper and try the generator with no load and see what happens. Then them on one by one to see if you can isolate the problem.
__________________

__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 08:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Don't want to sound stupids but don't know what ems is. I did not pull any f uses. I had all lights off the tv off the fridge off the ac off. I let the genny r un for about 5 minutes then turned just ac on. It took a few the it came on started blowing cold air for about a minute then click. Shut ev everything down moved my genny to buddies setup ran it fine. Tried my huge loud genny same thing.
__________________
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 10:07 PM   #4
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,773
EMS like this - http://www.progressiveindustries.net/ems_hw50c.htm

But if you don't know, you likely don't have one.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 10:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Lol yea I don't have that. Guess I'm headed back to rv lot for them to figure out
__________________
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 10:32 PM   #6
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,773
Hopefully some other folks speak up- I really don't even know enough to be dangerous.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 10:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
You say you've turned everything off but unless you've done that by shutting off every one of the circuit breakers (except the two masters) then you haven't really done it. (In other words, you've probably forgotten something like the water heater or the converter.)
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 07:57 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
Yes you are correct I didn't shut it off with the breakers. Is it normal to have to do that each time you fire it up? If so they didn't explain that they just said plug it in
__________________
david155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:04 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Filthy Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 627
I think mostly you need to make sure the fridge and water heater are running on propane only as they can draw quite a bit of current. The converter can also be a bit of a load.
__________________
Goody Two Shoes and the Filthy Beast
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500HD
Duramax and Allison 6 speed
2012 Wildcat 282RKX

You can't make things idiot proof, you can only make them idiot resistant.
Filthy Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:13 AM   #10
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Check to make sure you never run the water heater on electric when running on the generator.

Turn off climate control on your fridge (if possible).

Your generator should be able to handle the AC, but ONLY the AC.
A hard start capacitor and a fan delay relay will help reduce start up load.
Herk
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.