Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2019, 08:00 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Montevieo
Posts: 26
Help with Electrical Panel!

I did a boo-boo, took too many things up and blew the GFI. Couldnít get it to reset so I thought I would check the fuses I pulled a fuse out for the GFI and that looked good. When I went to put it back I dropped it now I canít access it itís down in the bowels of the converter unit. I had taken the fuse off the number one position, And put it in the number three that I had lost. I then discovered it was a tripped circuit breaker. Now Iíve got everything running, but Iím missing a fuse in the number one position. Everything seems to be running A-OK, I have no access to fuses, As I am in the middle of nowhere. Any suggestions would help. Thanks!
__________________

CorkyF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 08:05 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 11,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorkyF View Post
I did a boo-boo, took too many things up and blew the GFI. Couldn’t get it to reset so I thought I would check the fuses I pulled a fuse out for the GFI and that looked good. When I went to put it back I dropped it now I can’t access it it’s down in the bowels of the converter unit. I had taken the fuse off the number one position, And put it in the number three that I had lost. I then discovered it was a tripped circuit breaker. Now I’ve got everything running, but I’m missing a fuse in the number one position. Everything seems to be running A-OK, I have no access to fuses, As I am in the middle of nowhere. Any suggestions would help. Thanks!
Are you sure you have a fuse for "the GFCI"? GFCI are 120v AC and fuses are for 12v DC.


What kind of trailer/MH do you have?
__________________

__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 40; booked = 49
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 08:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 391
What exactly do you need help with? Seems that you've temporarily solve all problems until you can purchase a new fuse in the number 1 slot.

You dont say that anything isnt working, but without a replacement fuse, if something isnt working due to slot one being open, you'll need to decide what you dont need. Maybe you dont need the furnace fuse right now, for example...
Skip12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 08:08 PM   #4
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 18,271
Yep, GFIs have nothing to do with fuses. They are on AC breakers, like in your house.
So what wasn't working, the AC stuff or the DC stuff?
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 08:16 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Montevieo
Posts: 26
Help with Electrical Panel!

On the left side is a bank of circuit breakers & on the right is a vertical row of blade fuses. Theyíre marked ďDC CIRCUIT ď 1-6. 1-5 are 15 amp #6 is 30. I have a Salem fsx 181rtClick image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0970.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	366.2 KB
ID:	207802Attachment 1
CorkyF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 08:20 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: SW PA
Posts: 581
The cover of the power distribution panel is held on by 4 or 5 screws. Turn off all power AC and DC remove the cover and you will able to retrieve the dropped fuse.

I would be very hesitant to leave the dropped fuse inside the panel. It could very well end up in the wrong place and cause additional problems, including taking out your converter as most are open frame designs.
__________________


2017.5 Forester 3051S
2016 Honda Accord
Steve-W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 08:23 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Montevieo
Posts: 26
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0970.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	360.0 KB
ID:	207803
CorkyF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 08:39 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Montevieo
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve-W View Post
The cover of the power distribution panel is held on by 4 or 5 screws. Turn off all power AC and DC remove the cover and you will able to retrieve the dropped fuse.



I would be very hesitant to leave the dropped fuse inside the panel. It could very well end up in the wrong place and cause additional problems, including taking out your converter as most are open frame designs.


Iíve tried that, Iíd have to completely remove the converter & shake it out
CorkyF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 08:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorkyF View Post
I did a boo-boo, took too many things up and blew the GFI. Couldnít get it to reset so I thought I would check the fuses I pulled a fuse out for the GFI and that looked good. When I went to put it back I dropped it now I canít access it itís down in the bowels of the converter unit. I had taken the fuse off the number one position, And put it in the number three that I had lost. I then discovered it was a tripped circuit breaker. Now Iíve got everything running, but Iím missing a fuse in the number one position. Everything seems to be running A-OK, I have no access to fuses, As I am in the middle of nowhere. Any suggestions would help. Thanks!
You tripped a 15 amp 120 volt circuit breaker no a 12 volt fuse. Unplug the 120 volt power, disconnect the battery and find the fuse and put it back. GFI will not reset without power. Find the breaker marked GFI and turn it off them back on. Now go reset the GFI outlet.
__________________
2002 27rk Wildcat 5er.
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 08:53 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Montevieo
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
You tripped a 15 amp 120 volt circuit breaker no a 12 volt fuse. Unplug the 120 volt power, disconnect the battery and find the fuse and put it back. GFI will not reset without power. Find the breaker marked GFI and turn it off them back on. Now go reset the GFI outlet.


All done except for the battery disconnect. Everything seems to be working fine. GFI on & working. Still canít find the fuse. Saturday, if I havenít found it Iíll go into town & get a replacement. Iíll check with work in the morning as they may have some in the shop. I really appreciate all the help
__________________

CorkyF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.