Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2013, 08:43 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
BDavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 141
Honda 2000i generator

Our TT requires 30amp connection for campgrounds...with a 15000btu AC and all LED lighting it seems that I should be able to hook the 2000 up and run some lights, etc...no AC. However when I plug it in the generator kicks into high gear and keeps hitting the overload breaker....this is with nothing on in the camper. What gives? The Honda 2000i is rated at 13.3 amps...with that, will the Honda 3000 run the AC in the camper...Honda says yes...any real experience?
__________________

__________________
2016 Sandpiper 365asqb
2013 Rockwood Windjammer 3006W
2014 F250 6.7 PowerStroke 2wd
BDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 08:49 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
2000 Honda would be lucky to run a 15k and lighting. 12-18 amps
Don't forget your converter is always running . 1-8 amps
frig on electric mode is 5-8 amps.
CO detector 1 amp
Water heater 9-13 amps.
So there are other things on just so you know.
Look at this chart and check your amps.normal appliance amp draws
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 08:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,319
It shouldn't do that. It's acting like your a/c is on or maybe on a heat setting. I suggest turning the breakers off and plug in to the gene and rurn the breakers on one at a time to see where the monster load is coming from. Next possibilty is your convertor may have an issue but I can't see it pulling 13 amps unless everything is on with it.
__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 08:57 PM   #4
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
Something is on, or the the generator would not be overloaded. Something big like water heater.
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 08:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Lynkage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,149
A 3000i will run your ac yes. I went with 2 2000i's to make carrying them easier and by myself. (Not getting any younger) and they were just about the same price.
__________________
Shane & Antoinette
2012 Ford F-450 SuperDuty
2013 Crusader 355BHQ
Lynkage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 08:58 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by HONDAMAN174 View Post
It shouldn't do that. It's acting like your a/c is on or maybe on a heat setting. I suggest turning the breakers off and plug in to the gene and rurn the breakers on one at a time to see where the monster load is coming from. Next possibilty is your convertor may have an issue but I can't see it pulling 13 amps unless everything is on with it.
Of all the things I listed at minimum amps you're looking at 28 amps from a 15 amp circuit.
2000 watts is 16.75 amps
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 09:02 PM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: South West PA
Posts: 2,947
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDavis View Post
Our TT requires 30amp connection for campgrounds...with a 15000btu AC and all LED lighting it seems that I should be able to hook the 2000 up and run some lights, etc...no AC. However when I plug it in the generator kicks into high gear and keeps hitting the overload breaker....this is with nothing on in the camper. What gives? The Honda 2000i is rated at 13.3 amps...with that, will the Honda 3000 run the AC in the camper...Honda says yes...any real experience?
I use 2- 2000's in parallel for my needs with 50 amp service. I always try to manage the power... very important.
__________________
grayfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 10:16 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
kz08h5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Carmel, Indiana
Posts: 308
My Honda doesn't like it if there is a load on it when it is started. Make sure you don't have it plugged in when you start the generator.
__________________
kz08h5

2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax Crewcab
Jeep Commander - sold
Flagstaff V-Lite WRB26
kz08h5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 10:18 PM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: South West PA
Posts: 2,947
Quote:
Originally Posted by kz08h5 View Post
My Honda doesn't like it if there is a load on it when it is started. Make sure you don't have it plugged in when you start the generator.
X-2
__________________
grayfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 10:23 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
This is also an option that will help.
air conditioner for generator mod


TURBS
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.