Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2014, 11:09 AM   #1
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
Honda 2000i X2, PI EMS, and my Air Conditioner

Ok, so I picked up a Honda 2000i companion model at a pawn shop (essentially brand new) for $599 which I thought was a pretty good price. Now I can stick this unit in my truck box with my other 2000i and run everything. My test run resulted in a interesting phenomena.

If I leave both running hooked together with a 30 amp cord to the RV and leave them on Eco-throttle, when I kick on the AC or the microwave, my PI EMS (50 amp hardwired) senses low voltage before the generators have a chance to ramp up to full power and it kicks out, waits a few seconds and kick back in and this cycle repeats it self.

SO if I use any high power appliance, I have to leave the Honda's running on high power, upon which everything runs fine.

I guess I could switch the PI EMS out of the circuit (which should not be to risky since I know where the power is coming from) but I wonder if trying to start the AC unit from ECO throttle position and the momentary low voltage might put stress on the AC unit itself or the Honda generators.

Any thoughts or ideas out there??
__________________

__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 12:00 PM   #2
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
DUH!

Just read the parallel cable instructions online and they clearly state that you need to switch the ECO switch OFF when using high amperage loads. That appears to be the answer.

Still welcome discussion tho.
__________________

__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 12:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,318
Might not be a bad idea to add a hard start capacitor to you A/C. About 14$ on amazon- will make it easier on the compressor to start.
__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 03:22 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RPAspey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: central PA
Posts: 973
Something else, I turn on the ac fan first, that kicks my Yamaha genny out of idle/eco mode, then I'll kick on the ac. I have a 2400iS and no hard start cap.

2000 Cherokee 31BH, "flipped axles and raised",LEDs, solar, inverter, etc..aka "boondock ready". '07 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB, modded as well.
__________________
2000 Cherokee 29BH with 6V batteries, LED lights & 400 watts of solar power, flipped axles and raised. 2007 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB with lots of mods. C-co, 8/158th AVN Maint.
RPAspey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 03:30 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Or you could do my fan for a/c mod which delays the fan while compressor starts up.


And put a hard start capacitor in.


TURBS

Sabre owners united!
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 03:32 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Here.


air conditioner for generator mod

TURBS

Sabre owners united!
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 04:36 PM   #7
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
great ideas. After the hard start capacitor and the fan delay. That might give the genny's enough time to spin up, maybe. Up on the roof, I go.
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 05:23 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
On my unit the hard start capacitor fit right in this box.

TURBS

Sabre owners united!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1397337795764.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	49691   Click image for larger version

Name:	1397337824399.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	47.4 KB
ID:	49692  
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.