Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-29-2018, 07:53 PM   #1

How to charge multiple batteries at the same time

Hi folks,
I am new to this repair stuff.. I have a class A with a residential fridge and Forest River has 4 batteries, I assume connected together that will keep it running while on the road.
My question's are as follows: if I put a battery charger on one of the batteries, will all of them get charged? Also, can I charge them while the coach is plugged in? And, how can I test to see if the converter is charging them while plugged in or on the road.
They appear to be taking a full charge and the charger (independent) shuts off or the green light comes on. If I shut it off and turn it back on it takes a full charge again.

Any suggestions are very much appreciated!
scusset1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2018, 08:15 PM   #2

The converter is charging them if the top LED on the battery panel is lit. That isn't 100% it is "charging." The engine is charging them if the same is true when running disconnected from shore power.

If you have a voltmeter, the converter will charge at 14, 13.6 and 13.3 or so, depending on how charged they are. The engine will charge them at around 14.2 or so.

You shouldn't need a separate charger.

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2018, 08:18 PM   #3

The converter doesn't charge while on the road. It is powered by 120 volts AC. Your vehicle's engine alternator may charge the batteries while driving.

As to whether they are connected together, why not just look at the batteries and see if they are wired in parallel.

Previous poster is correct, you don't need a separate charger.
Ilovemywife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2018, 09:10 PM   #4
Certified Curmudgeon

Be careful, you may have 4 x 6 volt batteries. Putting a 12v charger on one battery would be bad.