Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2012, 09:34 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edwards, Colorado
Posts: 6
initial use..... Trimetric 2025

Regarding the Trimetric 2025......
Can I use the "AH" (amp hours discharged from a full battery) to roughly gage the battery stystem percentage of full charge? The %FULL indicator isn't registering yet probably due to batteries not getting full charge from the trailers' converter. I'm planning on getting(after next paycheck a good battery charger to supplement the TT's charging system so this will eventually, hopefully, enable the Trimetric to register a full charge. I'm wondering how I can use the Trimetric to monitor battery system on my next couple of camping trips, before I buy a separate battery charger......for example, if Trimetric can't yet calculate %FULL then how does it know "amp hours discharged from a full battery"............IF my battery system has 225 amp hours then when it's at 112 AH would this tell me that I'm at 50 percent battery capacity?
Thanks for any help,,,,,,from a electronically challenged happy camper.
__________________

__________________
ahappycamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:27 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Did you program the correct AH of your battery into the system?

If so, then press and hold the reset button to set the capacity to 100 percent.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:54 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edwards, Colorado
Posts: 6
Thank you for your reply!.........
Okay, I did this and it set the AH to zero. I'm still plugged into shore power and the charging light is still indicating it's charging. Do you think I'm correct in assuming i can't get a full charge because of the limits of my converter in the TT?.....Also, should I reset the AH just prior to unplugging shore power(when leaving for camp trip) and use AH indicator to monitor battery use?
__________________
ahappycamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 10:24 AM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahappycamper View Post
Thank you for your reply!.........
Okay, I did this and it set the AH to zero. I'm still plugged into shore power and the charging light is still indicating it's charging. Do you think I'm correct in assuming i can't get a full charge because of the limits of my converter in the TT?.....Also, should I reset the AH just prior to unplugging shore power(when leaving for camp trip) and use AH indicator to monitor battery use?
Setting the AH to zero is telling the computer that you have NO battery installed.

You need to tell the computer the capacity of your battery bank fully charged.
Like 75AH.

Lou
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 10:29 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edwards, Colorado
Posts: 6
The AH value was previosly, and still is set to 225......
__________________
ahappycamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 03:12 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edwards, Colorado
Posts: 6
Thanks to your responses, as well as the previous threads about this issue I think I'm on the right track. I used an old battery charger in my garage, and it was able to provide 14.6 volts of charge. It only took about 4 minutes of charge time for the Trimetric to show full charge........Yeah!

Now I'm feeling like i'll be able to more closely monitor my batteries for longevity.
__________________
ahappycamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 01:10 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
ronhanson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 322
The trimetric works well but you do have to get it to the charged state, which at the default setting is higher than most converter voltages go. Its a good idea to reset it when you know you have a good charge also.
__________________

__________________
Ron Hanson
2009 Georgetown 350TS (bunks)
400W solar, 440AH 6V GC2
2009 Ford Edge AWD Ltd towed
2011 Honda Fit Sport towed
ronhanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.