Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2016, 03:18 PM   #21
Santa Jay
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmsbandman View Post
Apologies if this is a dumb question, but I would rather ask a dumb question then destroy my unit. Just bought a 2013 365 SAQB yesterday. I am planning to run power to where the unit is parked, and was planning on doing the 50A. I am far from expert, but have installed breakers and outlets before. Every example I have seen, though, shows a 50A/240v. The folks at the dealership must've told me 20 times "Be sure you don't plug into 240v. It will fry your electronics". So-How do I wire a 50A circuit with 120v? Is there such thing as a single space 50A breaker?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Some hardware stores and camper places sale a 20/30 breaker you wire your 4 wire # 10 wire to your 4 prong breaker you will have 2 hot 1 neutral and 1 ground. If can't find that double breaker you can get a 20 and 30 amp breaker. On the same side of buss bar you will connect 1 breaker then skip a lug that is having a space inbeteeew the 2 breaker on same buss bar. That's how I did mine and it works great
__________________

__________________
Santa Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 03:40 PM   #22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 16
Install 50A at home?

Yep. These forums are great. I'll plan to be asking a lot of questions, like..... How was the wiring be different but you just mentioned? Seems that the outlet is really 240 anyway, and the camper splits it into two 120. Did I only THINK I understand? Ground, neutral, black, red on the outlet? On the panel: black and red to the two sides of the breaker, white/bare both to ground?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
tmsbandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 05:57 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 31
Electrician Service

An electrician installed ours at home for only $350. Well worth it. RV box was from Home Depot.
__________________
Jesse
2016 F450
2017 Cedar Creek 38EL Champagne
Only here once - do it baby!
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 06:26 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
BandJCarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 1,934
Just had an electrician install mine; replacing a 30 amp box on outside wall. Turns out the wiring to get to my remote breaker box is not strong enough to handle 50 amps. It'll handle 30 ok, so I'm running one a/c till he can get here end of month (after Goshen) and replace the wiring. It's not cheap......but cheaper than a new unit.

However, you appear to know a lot more about electricity than I do. I know one thing about electricity AND plumbing......how to use the Yellow Pages.
__________________
"Next to prayer, fishing is the most personal relationship of man"Calvin Coolidge
"American by Birth, Southern by the Grace of God"Lewis Grizzard

FROG AR-0019-242
2016 GMC Denali 3500Dually--2017 CC 36CKTS
BandJCarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 07:07 PM   #25
Junior Member
 
GDoubleU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: North Charleston, SC
Posts: 22
I followed this same example and installed a 50 Amp power box on the outside wall of my garage for when i bring the camper home for a trip. I followed this same example, but when I got the 3 gauge wire to the attic above the fuse panel, I called a qualified electrician for the final hookup and showed him the attached paper to make sure he got the breakers hooked up correctly for the RV. I did the hard work and he finished it off. I am deathly afraid of electricity. Good luck and always ask questions.
GDoubleU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 09:03 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 2,833
If you have a 30amp box and a 20amp outlet you can make 50amp with a cheater box


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2015 Cedar Creek 32RL
2012 Silverado 3500HD SRW
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ignhavefun.gif
spock123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 09:35 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 127
We recently added a 50-amp circuit at our home, with a dedicated RV-style outlet for our new 5th wheel. We hired a local, licensed electrician to do the work, and we are completely satisfied with the performance of his company. Since our house was built here in California circa 1955, our existing circuit breaker cabinet and feeder wiring to the utility connection had to be upgraded in order to meet current city codes. We ended up upgrading our entire electrical distribution system to go from 100 amps to a new capability of 200 amps. This was necessary in order for us to get the necessary city permits for the work. I would never have attempted this project on my own, even though I hold a Masters Degree in Engineering from Stanford U. Besides, I am too old to crawl around under our house to run all the new wiring runs required!!

We now have our new 5th wheel parked in our driveway behind a locked gate with enough power to run both AC units when the temps hit triple digits. This serves as our "guest house" when family members come to visit, and there are many. The upgrade also provides enough reserve capacity for us to add central AC to our home if needed in the future.
__________________
Jakie-Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 11:41 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 171
Get a high quality surge protector such as the Progressive Industries EMS PT 50C, go to their site for specs. The EMS PT 50C has saved my electronics and AC several times from low voltages, missing neutrals and grounds. Make the good electrician is familiar with RV circuits.
__________________
DJsFolly
D. J. Schuler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 11:49 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmsbandman View Post
Yep. These forums are great. I'll plan to be asking a lot of questions, like..... How was the wiring be different but you just mentioned? Seems that the outlet is really 240 anyway, and the camper splits it into two 120. Did I only THINK I understand? Ground, neutral, black, red on the outlet? On the panel: black and red to the two sides of the breaker, white/bare both to ground?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes, you got it correct. There is 240 volts available but the RV does not use it. Instead it uses it as two seperate 120 volt circuits, each on a 50 amp breaker.
__________________

__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2016 Wildwood Xlite 171 RBXL
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab.
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.