Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2016, 07:36 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 21
Install 50A at home?

Apologies if this is a dumb question, but I would rather ask a dumb question then destroy my unit. Just bought a 2013 365 SAQB yesterday. I am planning to run power to where the unit is parked, and was planning on doing the 50A. I am far from expert, but have installed breakers and outlets before. Every example I have seen, though, shows a 50A/240v. The folks at the dealership must've told me 20 times "Be sure you don't plug into 240v. It will fry your electronics". So-How do I wire a 50A circuit with 120v? Is there such thing as a single space 50A breaker?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
tmsbandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 07:52 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,422



2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "22"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 08:15 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 21
Thanks. But....that's 240v. Am I missing something? The fear of 240 was put into me at the dealer. :-)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
tmsbandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 08:23 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Dakota EV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmsbandman View Post
Apologies if this is a dumb question, but I would rather ask a dumb question then destroy my unit. Just bought a 2013 365 SAQB yesterday. I am planning to run power to where the unit is parked, and was planning on doing the 50A. I am far from expert, but have installed breakers and outlets before. Every example I have seen, though, shows a 50A/240v. The folks at the dealership must've told me 20 times "Be sure you don't plug into 240v. It will fry your electronics". So-How do I wire a 50A circuit with 120v? Is there such thing as a single space 50A breaker?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I would advise getting a licensed electrician to complete this job for you. Depending on where you live you might need to have a permit to complete this. You will also have to have the correct type of wire. Are you going to bury the wire? If it will be buried then this takes a special type of wire. Also do you want to just bury the wire or install the wire in conduit. I installed my underground wire in conduit to protect it. That also allows me to repair the wire later if something happens to it. One of my brothers just buried the wire for his connection and now he is having problems so he is having to dig up the entire wire to fix that problem. There are several important questions that you must answer before you decide how to handle this. Please do not get in a rush. Take your time and be sure that everything is correct so that you protect your investment in your camper. I hope that everything goes well for you.
__________________

Freddie & Linda
2015 Forest River Sierra 330RLS
2003 Dodge Ram 2500 4X4 Cummins Diesel
Days camped for 2016 - 46
Days Planned for 2017 - 128
Dakota EV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 08:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 156
This diagram details how the 2 120v legs are separated in the camper so your devices do not receive 240v;

__________________
pjnlorrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 09:21 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 21
Install 50A at home?

Thanks to both. Dakota EV-I do get that (conduit vs outdoor cabling, using 6ga, etc). I've done a similar project at the same house running power to an above ground pool. My only concern was how to get 120v on a 240v plug. Looks like Forest River has taken care of it internally. No permits required, thankfully.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
tmsbandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 09:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 2,891
Here are a few sites for RV electrical.....

RV Electrical Systems

RV Electric
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 09:45 AM   #8
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 12,436
Howdy, where Turbs got the information in post #2 comes from this site, which really explains further what a 120/240 volt SPLIT phase 50 amp service is and how it operates. The keyword here is Split, as in two 120 volt legs)

RV Electric

If you will click on the 50 amp tab, on the page linked above, the author explains how a 120/240 split phase service works, and how it all stays 120 volts.

I also advise clicking on the outlet testing tabs too, to familiarize yourself how/why you should be testing any outlet before plugging in (your house or campground).

This is another site that explains the 50 amp split phase service too.

Electrical Tutorial - Chapter 3 - 30 Amp versus 50 Amp
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I've invented a new word. "Plagiarism"
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 09:48 AM   #9
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4,118
If you do wire this yourself, Use a meter to check the voltage at the outlet as per the diagram in Post #2 before you connect the camper.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 65W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 09:50 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 21
Awesome! Thanks all. I've got it now. I appreciate the links. So....all of the 50A outlets are technically 240, but the camper wiring splits it? Why all the warnings at the dealership?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
tmsbandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.