Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2015, 02:45 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 730
OP, it will work fine and you are protecting both shore and generator power with you configuration. The only thing you may need to do is bond the neutral on the generator to make the EMS happy. We can build that simple bridge when you get to it.
__________________

__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 03:00 PM   #12
Member
 
Christian_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
So what i "may" have missed and now I possibly see is you do not have a switch over. Correct?
I'm not sure what that is, TURBS......something to easily switch from shore to generator power??? If I'm guessing correctly, then no....just the plug....in the campground pedestal or in the receptacle pictured for generator.

__________________

__________________
Christian
Reno, NV
2015 Georgetown 270
Days Camped 2015: 40
Days Camped 2016: 03
Christian_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 03:01 PM   #13
Member
 
Christian_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by geotex1 View Post
OP, it will work fine and you are protecting both shore and generator power with you configuration. The only thing you may need to do is bond the neutral on the generator to make the EMS happy. We can build that simple bridge when you get to it.
Okay. Thank you. And I assume I will get an error code on the EMS if that is the case?

As long as I don't get mini-explosions or fires, I'll be happy.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
Christian
Reno, NV
2015 Georgetown 270
Days Camped 2015: 40
Days Camped 2016: 03
Christian_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 03:03 PM   #14
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
So, I'm going out on a limb here...
You DEFINITELY cannot have shore power cord plugged in when you fire up gennie!
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 03:12 PM   #15
Member
 
Christian_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
So, I'm going out on a limb here...
You DEFINITELY cannot have shore power cord plugged in when you fire up gennie!
Right
__________________
Christian
Reno, NV
2015 Georgetown 270
Days Camped 2015: 40
Days Camped 2016: 03
Christian_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 03:13 PM   #16
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian_D View Post
Right
Gotcha!
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 03:36 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian_D View Post
Okay. Thank you. And I assume I will get an error code on the EMS if that is the case?

As long as I don't get mini-explosions or fires, I'll be happy.

Thanks for your help.
Provided you're not working with live shore power and a propane leak, I'd say your possibility for mini explosions or fires is low!

The EMS will just give you a code if the generator needs to have the neutral bonded, and that's a cheap and easy task you can handle too.
__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 01:58 PM   #18
Team Bleu
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 96
Can't help we had Lazy Days install it while they where prepping my new Georgetown XL
__________________
DBsRedVett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 10:24 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by geotex1 View Post
OP, it will work fine and you are protecting both shore and generator power with you configuration. The only thing you may need to do is bond the neutral on the generator to make the EMS happy. We can build that simple bridge when you get to it.
I'm not the OP but I just installed the same Progressive EMS in my Shamrock 21DK. I get the open ground fault when I plug the 30A shore power cord into my spiffy new Honda EU2000i generator. Indicator lights on the generator and power cord show that all is well.

I'm ready to cross the bridge. How does one safely bond the neutral on the generator?

Thanks
__________________
- 1969 Coleman Williamsburg (with original canvas!)
- 2000 Coleman Mesa
- 2014 Shamrock 21DK
- 1999 Chevrolet Astro
- 2005 Dodge Durango Limited 4x2 5L V8 Hemi

- 2016 Ford F-150 SCrew Lariat 4x2 3.5L V6 Ecoboost
chriscowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 10:55 PM   #20
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by chriscowles View Post
I'm not the OP but I just installed the same Progressive EMS in my Shamrock 21DK. I get the open ground fault when I plug the 30A shore power cord into my spiffy new Honda EU2000i generator. Indicator lights on the generator and power cord show that all is well.

I'm ready to cross the bridge. How does one safely bond the neutral on the generator?

Thanks
Here.
http://www.noshockzone.org/generator...utral-bonding/
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.