Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2015, 01:08 PM   #1
Newly retired and ready
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Carlisle, Iowa
Posts: 46
Installing a 12 volt plug

At the current time my Flagstaff 5th wheel does not have a 12 volt plug inside anywhere. This fall I will be camping in Smokey Mountain National Park using the battery and need to install a plug.
I plan to run the wires back to my shut off switch but my question is how heavy of wire should I use and do I need to put a fuse in the hot line. The adapter I will be plugging in that goes to my Cpap machine has a 7.5 amp fuse in it.
__________________

__________________

Gary, Susan, and Molly(the dog)
2007 Ford F-250 V10
2010 Flagstaff 8524 RLS
Gl111349 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 01:23 PM   #2
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
I'd use 14 gauge....look at trucks, some are awful long and with the ones that look like a light show at night don't have problems.....I, personally, wouldn't add a fuse. Machine has one.
__________________

__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 01:38 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,101
I would add a fuse, this is a moving vehicle and if the wire should wear through between the outlet and the battery you could get a short to ground. This could cause a fire. I would put in a 15 or 20 amp fuse.
__________________
Ontario

Vibe 6501
1 Prospector Canoe
2 Mtn. Bikes
4 Hiking Boots
Happy Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 01:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
MilCop4523's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: In a big child free home - except for me
Posts: 1,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy Vibe View Post
I would add a fuse, this is a moving vehicle and if the wire should wear through between the outlet and the battery you could get a short to ground. This could cause a fire. I would put in a 15 or 20 amp fuse.
ditto
I added a 12V plug in for powering the cell phones when at flea markets (I'm a vendor who sells flags, ball caps etc for extra income)

put the inline 15 amp fuse in as an added form of protection taking seconds to do and saves a lifetime of regrets.
__________________
09 Sundance 31.5 XLT Bunkhouse
17 Greywolf 22rr Toy Hauler
and
The new toy hauler - 2016 Ford F150 Supercrew XTR ECOBOOST.
MilCop4523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 02:22 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilCop4523 View Post
ditto
I added a 12V plug in for powering the cell phones when at flea markets (I'm a vendor who sells flags, ball caps etc for extra income)

put the inline 15 amp fuse in as an added form of protection taking seconds to do and saves a lifetime of regrets.
Double ditto. All power sources should be protected. The fuse in the device will protect the device but not the power source! And the protective device (fuse, CB, or other) should be as close to the power source as possible. If the wire were to short to ground before the fuse the fuse will not blow but you still have a high current direct short to ground!
__________________
limblips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 02:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,558
Remember, fuses and circuit breakers are to protect wiring. Fuses within a unit is to protect the wiring (circuit) inside the unit. A fuse at the source is certainly called for in your application. JMO
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 12:57 PM   #7
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Being how it's for your machine, at least use a fuse-stat ( auto- reset)
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 02:35 PM   #8
Newly retired and ready
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Carlisle, Iowa
Posts: 46
Thanks to all for the great advise. In line fuse is installed, wires are run from battery shutoff and ground and it works. The forum comes through again.
__________________

Gary, Susan, and Molly(the dog)
2007 Ford F-250 V10
2010 Flagstaff 8524 RLS
Gl111349 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 07:25 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 217
I just taped into light with scotch locks.
__________________
NorSnrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 08:02 PM   #10
Cyber Phrenologist
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,699
I installed a 12 volt plug in the bedroom of our Rockwood 8280SS. I ran the wiring from the lighting in the cargo hold. It was close, accessible, easy, cheap, so on.

It's under the TV shelf in the side of the wardrobe. I intended it for low wattage loads like the weather radio and a 12 volt TV.

Works well.
__________________

__________________
KU4OJ
Admin at www.openroadsradio.net, part of the Social Knowledge network.
"RVing and Amateur Radio served up on the same plate"
2008 (or is it 2009?) Rockwood 8280SS - 2007 F-150
Lot's of mostly Kenwood radios

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.