Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2015, 01:48 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 27
Inverter Install

Hello,
I would like to install an inverter and plug my shore power cord into the inverter. I know I will have to shut off the converter, so it will not charge the batteries in a continuous loop. I know this set up will power all my AC receptacles. I am wondering about the DC powered water pump, and lights? Will they still work as long as I leave the battery switch in the on position?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Leprechauner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 02:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,340
That's not exactly how this works.
Please research the proper way to use an inverter.


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS

I am nice!
__________________

__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 03:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 154
A inverter uses the battery 12dc and turns it to 110vac.
__________________
clutchd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 03:21 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 27
And your point? That's why I want to plug the shore power cord of the motorhome into it.
__________________
Leprechauner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 03:30 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 154
So what you want to do is power the shore power cord off the batteries in your coach via an inverter?

If that a what I understand there is a easier way I'd you have an open breaker in the power center. Hook the inverter to your 12vdc batteries and run the 110vac cord to the breaker box. Hook the black to the breaker, white to the neutral buds bar and ground to the ground bus bar. This will be an aux power source. So simply leave the main off, turn on the aux breaker and turn on the inverter
__________________
clutchd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 03:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
KMP44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Central New York
Posts: 1,025
How many 110v circuits do you have for your outlets? In our trailer, all the outlets are on one circuit which makes for a pretty simple inverter install. If you research a subpanel setup you will see a common setup for a hard wired inverter setup.


By using that subpanel concept, but only wiring into one circuit it gets easier. You just spice into the outlet circuit after it comes out of the panel and install your inverter & transfer switch. The transfer switch passes power through to the circuit when shore power is available and automatically kicks on to supply power from the battery when shore power isn't present.


That avoids having to turn the converter off. Plus in your original concept, you are powering your fridge on battery unless you manually switch it to gas. Plus you would be powering your microwave and AC circuits. If somebody accidentally flipped the AC switch you could have real issues. You would really need to turn the AC circuit off before using your proposed "whole house" setup.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf PRO Series Electrical.pdf (161.8 KB, 29 views)
__________________


2017 F-250
2013 Rockwood Roo 23 IKSS
KMP44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 03:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,236
Yes, DC water pump and lights will still works until battery (or batteries) voltage is too low to support.
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 04:33 PM   #8
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
What size inverter?
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 04:37 PM   #9
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,244
Does the OP's RV have the battery capacity to do what he wants?
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 05:06 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 27
Samlex PST 1500-12, 2 group 27 deep cycle batteries. I just want to be able to watch a little TV at night and make coffee in the morning, without generator noise. I also have a 120 watt portable solar panel , with 10 amp, built in controller.inverter is hard wire able.

Thank You
__________________

__________________
Leprechauner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.