Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2014, 11:05 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SC
Posts: 20
Inverter vs Converter

Ok here is my setup: 105watt solar panel, 2-6 volt Trojan 105 batteries run in series, Morningstar Tristar 45amp controller, Bogart trimetric 2030rv battery monitor, and a 800watt inverter. Question is can I plug my 30amp shore power plug into the inverter while dry camping to power the outlets and possibly the coffee pot and TV, without the converter trying to charge the batteries?
__________________

__________________
ftroop82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 10:00 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
No worries... we'll get this sorted. I know what you have and are trying to do. Some may not have responded because some of the terminology in your post could be a little confusing, but I know what you meant.

First question though is did you install the shunt for your Tristar?
__________________

__________________
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 10:13 AM   #3
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,469
The shortest answer is 'yes', if you switch the circuit breaker to the converter off.

The long answer though is whether or not you should. A lot more things get powered through the shore cable than just the outlets and TV. Your fridge, microwave, etc... which added up will probably tax your 800W inverter. Instead, I'd just plug the TV, coffee pot and whatever else you're looking to use directly into the inverter. (Also note that depending on your coffee pot, it may use up a fair chunk of that 800W. They're power hogs.)
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk, unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 11:27 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SC
Posts: 20
Yes, I installed a 500 amp shunt per the Bogart info. It looks like the converter is powered thru the 30 amp breaker, which seems to shut down the whole system.
__________________
ftroop82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 11:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
KMP44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Central New York
Posts: 1,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftroop82 View Post
It looks like the converter is powered thru the 30 amp breaker, which seems to shut down the whole system.
Do you have a separate breaker in the main panel(like 15A) for your converter? That would give you a way to shut it off when using the inverter.

If not, you could take a look behind the panel and see where it is connected. Its probably spliced into the wire feeding one of your other circuits. If you have an open spot in the panel, add a new breaker to isolate the converter. Then you can shut it off before using the inverter. In the scenario where you have the 30A main cord going to the inverter, you would also want to manually put the fridge on gas on flip the breakers for the microwave and AC as well. If somebody tried to start those while in the inverter, you would overload it.

Or, take the other route, and just plug your 110V items directly into the inverter.
__________________


2017 F-250
2013 Rockwood Roo 23 IKSS
KMP44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 11:54 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SC
Posts: 20
Thanks for all the help/info.
__________________

__________________
ftroop82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter, inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.