Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2016, 05:56 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
dannyabear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShermanD View Post
Got a solution for you. Go to your local HD, Lowes, True Value, etc and get yourself a 30 amp 4 wire dryer cord and a female cord cap configured to whatever your RV needs are. If you need 125/250 volts use both hot wires. If you only need 120 volts use only one hot wire and tape the other one off.
Next year find a annual with a newer service
This is a good temp solution, I have the know how and would change the dryer recepticle or just add a 30 amp rv rect. to the box.
__________________

__________________
Danny & Darlene
2002 Silverado 1500HD
2014 Rockwood 2703WS 'Emerald Pkg'
Days camped 2015=42 2014=48 2013=41 2012=47 2011=18
dannyabear is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 06:03 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
dea49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve29rlx View Post
Has the fuse ever blown? Do you have a spare?
There is probably a penny screwed in behind it.
__________________

__________________
dea49 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 06:14 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Frederica DE
Posts: 935
Quote:
Originally Posted by gectisme View Post
I believe the outlet with the horizontal blade is rated at 20amps, (the one the OP is plugged into). I would do as other said, if you don't have the know how and tools, pay an electrician to change it out to a 30amp outlet, shouldn't cost too much and get peace of mind...
You are right 30A would be two horizontal blades my bad
__________________

2016 Ford F250 XLT 4X4 6.2L
2015 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329SS
Hensley Arrow
Nights camping in 2017: 20 nights
Miles traveled in 2017: 1,530
uhduh camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 06:38 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 169
The 110 v plug is a 20 amp receptacle.

The extension cord does matter. The bigger and shorter the better. You loose amps per foot.

As info
__________________
2015 Forest River Grey Wolf..Traded
2015 Forest River Cherokee 274RK
2001 2500hd
2014 Jeep SRT...did not trade
Simplewon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 06:45 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
OntarioFireFighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwritecode View Post
That doesn't sound right to me but I'm like you and know very little when it comes to electricity and how it works. I'm sure others will chime in if that's even possible...
The 30A fuse protecting the 20A outlet, is incorrect; and dangerous.

The "T-slot" outlet is rated for 20A... that's what the fuse should be, at most. The contacts, and most likely the wiring, isn't sized for 30A loads. Running it at 30A is a bad plan...

The whole works should be redone, IMO.
__________________
2014 Grey Wolf 28BH, behind a 2015 F350 Diesel Crew Cab

Nights Camped 2016: 44

Nights Booked 2017: 11
Nights Camped 2017: 6
OntarioFireFighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 02:06 PM   #36
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaBob View Post
Also I forgot to attach the EMS photo - oops here it is.
Bob, that is the exact EMS I have. YAY!

I emailed the owners asking for an updated box that I can directly plug my 30amp plug into, that also has a circuit breaker.

They agreed to replace it. The last renters on this site were there about 15 years, and they told the owners they didn't want it replaced, because they liked having the second out for plugging in lights, etc.

The new box will NOT have an additional plug.....but I'm fine with that. I can use the plug on the outside of my camper for those needs.

Thanks to everyone else for their input. I hope this helped others too.
__________________
Thanks! Mike and Jan.


2016 Forest River Surveyor 32RLTS
(Newbies: Our first camper. No truck. Permanent campsite in Pocono Mountains, PA.)
PoconoFun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 02:12 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 146
If you have a 50 amp camper ask for a box with a 50 amp plug.
__________________
2015 Sunseeker 3170ds
TakeItEasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 02:41 PM   #38
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TakeItEasy View Post
If you have a 50 amp camper ask for a box with a 50 amp plug.
Our camper is wired for 50amp in case we later want to add a second A/C.
But the campground does not offer 50amp service to the seasonal sites.
I've not had problems with 30amps except on the holiday weekends.
__________________
Thanks! Mike and Jan.


2016 Forest River Surveyor 32RLTS
(Newbies: Our first camper. No truck. Permanent campsite in Pocono Mountains, PA.)
PoconoFun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 02:49 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: HuntsVegas, AL
Posts: 6,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
Bob, that is the exact EMS I have. YAY!

I emailed the owners asking for an updated box that I can directly plug my 30amp plug into, that also has a circuit breaker.

They agreed to replace it. The last renters on this site were there about 15 years, and they told the owners they didn't want it replaced, because they liked having the second out for plugging in lights, etc.

The new box will NOT have an additional plug.....but I'm fine with that. I can use the plug on the outside of my camper for those needs.

Thanks to everyone else for their input. I hope this helped others too.
You are now, as we say in Alabama "In High Cotton"

Enjoy your new (and SAFE!) Electric pedestal (At no cost to you! )

Now....
__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 24 2014 - 42 2015 - 56 Jul 2016 - Fulltime
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 03:12 PM   #40
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dea49 View Post
Post a pic of the wiring. It is usually a simple setup with a positive, GND, and one lead for each tank.

It is fairly easy to pull a wire from the connector and using a flat blad screwdriver, reinsert it in the proper one.

The plug they say is 30A doesn't look as though it would be UL listed for that type of amps and will eventually heat up and fail. What is the blade configuration of your power cord?
Here's a picture of the back of the tank panel numbered #1 (red) to #6 (blue).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4090.JPG
Views:	25
Size:	88.5 KB
ID:	115646  
__________________

__________________
Thanks! Mike and Jan.


2016 Forest River Surveyor 32RLTS
(Newbies: Our first camper. No truck. Permanent campsite in Pocono Mountains, PA.)
PoconoFun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.