Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2016, 01:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 16
Is this Electrical Setup Safe?

We bought our first RV last year. We are in our second year of having it at a permanent camp ground. We acquired a new site this year which did not have a place to plug in my 30amp cord. (camper is 50amp, so I used a 50 to 30 last year). The new site only has a regular looking house plug. (Sorry...very little understanding of electrical, which is why I'm posting this).

So I was told to get a 30amp to 15amp plug and it would work fine.

My question is could this set up cause any problems to my camper?
I do have a 30amp Surge Protector between the box and the RV.

Any idea what the round outlet on the left is? It looks like a 50amp, but the bottom upside down L doesn't allow a 50amp to fit it. Also, there is only a 30amp fuse.......no circuit breaker.

This scares me because my 1 year old Dometic A/C just broke. The mobile repair guy said the compressor was extremely hot and only getting .5 (volts or amps???) and the coil was not cold. It was only blowing warm air.

Also.......is there any danger in running a regular household extension cord from the post and plugging the camper 15amp plug into that? I'm assuming you could do it, but the extension cord would need to be heavy (how heavy?)

Click image for larger version

Name:	7-26-2016 2-20-20 PM.png
Views:	202
Size:	671.2 KB
ID:	115374

Thanks, Mike
__________________

__________________
Thanks! Mike and Jan.


2016 Forest River Surveyor 32RLTS
(Newbies: Our first camper. No truck. Permanent campsite in Pocono Mountains, PA.)
PoconoFun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 01:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr Havercamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,816
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
We bought our first RV last year. We are in our second year of having it at a permanent camp ground. We acquired a new site this year which did not have a place to plug in my 30amp cord. (camper is 50amp, so I used a 50 to 30 last year). The new site only has a regular looking house plug. (Sorry...very little understanding of electrical, which is why I'm posting this).

So I was told to get a 30amp to 15amp plug and it would work fine.

My question is could this set up cause any problems to my camper?
I do have a 30amp Surge Protector between the box and the RV.

Any idea what the round outlet on the left is? It looks like a 50amp, but the bottom upside down L doesn't allow a 50amp to fit it. Also, there is only a 30amp fuse.......no circuit breaker.

This scares me because my 1 year old Dometic A/C just broke. The mobile repair guy said the compressor was extremely hot and only getting .5 (volts or amps???) and the coil was not cold. It was only blowing warm air.

Also.......is there any danger in running a regular household extension cord from the post and plugging the camper 15amp plug into that? I'm assuming you could do it, but the extension cord would need to be heavy (how heavy?)

Attachment 115374

Thanks, Mike
You have to love private campground wiring, and the part time electricians who wired them. I would bet the farm the campground wiring is what cooked your AC.........Get a PI EMS and an autoformer.

If you bring an electric Dryer it will plug right in to that round outlet to the left, its a 14 30P old school dryer receptacle I think But its probably wired in a 30 amp 125 volt configuration................probably is a big word. It could also be wired 240. Do you have a tester? No telling how they wired it without taking it apart.....on both ends
__________________

__________________
2017 Roo 23WS
2015 GMC Sierra 2500HD 6.0 DCLB Z71
Mr Havercamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 02:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
DAISY BOYKIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SUNSHINE STATE
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via Skype™ to DAISY BOYKIN
Fuse from the 40's

I haven't seen a screw in fuse used like the one in the posted picture in a long time. Looks like a pre 50's fuse. If you are seasonal, I would update the whole box (panel) to a up to date RV pedestal. It would be worth paying a electrician to rewire the panel!


From the picture posted , there is another box below it. Have you investigated the panel below the one you show in the picture?
__________________
Sid, Lois & HRH MISSY Terrible 2s SHIH TZU
2011 ROCKWOOD 8285 WS
2014 F-250 KING RANCH PS/SD/6R140/BFT
BOLIY PRO 3600SI GEN
DAYS CAMPED 2016 74 DAYS
DAISY BOYKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 02:14 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 16
I do have a PI Surge Protector; not sure if that is same as EMS. I'm not familiar with an autoformer so I looked it up online. I feel I shouldn't have to buy "boosters" if I'm understanding what that is.


I don't know much about electrical, but am willing to learn so I don't blow up the camper appliances. What kind of tester should I get and how and what should I be testing? I rely on the PI to tell me the volts, amps, etc.


Why would this set up cause problems with the A/C? I'm asking so I can have some leverage with the campsite owners to convince them I need updating.


If they agree to let me get an electrician, I may do that myself if it's not too expensive. I guess a lot depends too on the wires coming into the post?
__________________
Thanks! Mike and Jan.


2016 Forest River Surveyor 32RLTS
(Newbies: Our first camper. No truck. Permanent campsite in Pocono Mountains, PA.)
PoconoFun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 02:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mr Havercamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,816
Well there are lots of testers but you need to have a working knowledge because that receptacle could be wired many different ways. It could be wired 120 volt, 240 volt, with ground or without etc etc etc. There is no telling what was done in an older private campground. I mentioned the autoformer because of your first post.......By the looks of that panel I'd bet they have undersized conductors feeding it................That's a 1960's panel

"The mobile repair guy said the compressor was extremely hot and only getting .5 (volts or amps???)"

Without knowing exactly what he said that statement screams "low voltage". The PI portable surge products do not warn of low or high voltage.

Since its a seasonal site calling an electrical contractor just to stop and take a look at it would be a wise investment and it shouldn't cost all that much.
__________________
2017 Roo 23WS
2015 GMC Sierra 2500HD 6.0 DCLB Z71
Mr Havercamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 12:55 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Middleburg, FL
Posts: 42
I would not do anything with that old set up (or any other for that matter) as far as removing covers, changing plugs, etc, without first de-energizing the circuit feeding the panel. Electricity can and will kill you if given half a chance. Be very, very careful since, admittedly, you know very little about electricity. Let an electrician handle it.
__________________
_____________________
Berk Thompson
TT 2013 FR V Lite WIKSS
TV 2013 Chevy 2500 Crew Cab
Middleburg Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 01:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,958
the fuses for the what appears to be 50 amp connection are behind that pull out disconnect above the plug. Like others have said get a qualified electrician to check things out or better yet request a different site with correct connections.
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 01:07 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
mdstudey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 247
Any chance you can move to a new spot with a better panel? If they are all like that, I think I would look for a new campground.
__________________
Chuck & Denise + Pata a.k.a the campground Gladys Karvitz
He is a picker, photographer, hiker. She is a quilter.
Both big nature lovers.
2015 23BD Grey Wolf, 2012 Chevy Silverado 1500
2015 - 7 nights, 2 trips, 2016 - 2 trip, 24 nights
Life is short
mdstudey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 01:28 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 282
I know on my trailer, which is 30 amp, the A/C will not run if I use the 30 to 15 amp converter. Like others said, I would be updating that panel or asking for a new site with the correct hook ups.
__________________
2014 Chevy 2500 CC, Duramax
2017 Wolf Pack 25pack12 Toyhauler
polishdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 01:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: HuntsVegas, AL
Posts: 6,148
Hi Mike!

Combining a couple of your posts here to answer questions (and help me understand J )


Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
We bought our first RV last year. We are in our second year of having it at a permanent camp ground. We acquired a new site this year which did not have a place to plug in my 30amp cord. (camper is 50amp, so I used a 50 to 30 last year). The new site only has a regular looking house plug. (Sorry...very little understanding of electrical, which is why I'm posting this).

So I was told to get a 30amp to 15amp plug and it would work fine.

Do I understand correctly that you have a 50AMP Camper and you are stepping the power all the way down to 110V (15AMP) receptacle?

If so this is a VERY BAD thing to do. Your camper was designed to draw 50AMP power for a variety of reasons (maybe 2 air conditioners, a fireplace, or other high-draw appliances)

If you have been running your air conditioner on 15AMP service it is no wonder you burned it up. In fact I am surprised there was even enough AMPS to turn over the compressor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
My question is could this set up cause any problems to my camper? I do have a 30amp Surge Protector between the box and the RV. .


The Surge Protector won’t make any difference – you need an Electrical Management System (see below)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
Also.......is there any danger in running a regular household extension cord from the post and plugging the camper 15amp plug into that? I'm assuming you could do it, but the extension cord would need to be heavy (how heavy?) .


Don’t do this! You need 50AMPS to properly power your camper (30AMPS when you have to but not a good idea for a long term solution.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
I do have a PI Surge Protector; not sure if that is same as EMS. I'm not familiar with an autoformer so I looked it up online. I feel I shouldn't have to buy "boosters" if I'm understanding what that is..


It is not. A EMS (Electrical Management System) Protects your camper from high voltages (Surges) and Low Voltages (Brown outs) – the low voltage is what fried you’re A/C.

A Hughes Autoformer is the key to preventing low voltage – it is a stabilizer and ensures your camper always has the correct voltage in. The Combination of a PI EMS & a Hughes Autoformer is the electrical management dream team.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
I don't know much about electrical, but am willing to learn so I don't blow up the camper appliances. What kind of tester should I get and how and what should I be testing? I rely on the PI to tell me the volts, amps, etc.


Get yourself a good multimeter. Here is a link to some YouTube How to videos:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
Why would this set up cause problems with the A/C? I'm asking so I can have some leverage with the campsite owners to convince them I need updating.


Low Amperage – the A/C needs at minimum 30AMPS


Quote:
Originally Posted by mkersic View Post
If they agree to let me get an electrician, I may do that myself if it's not too expensive. I guess a lot depends too on the wires coming into the post?


Please do not be offended, but you do not have enough experience to wire the post for 50AMPS (Hell, I am handy around electricity but I would not want to wire up a 50AMP outlet! )

Mike, Hope this helps!



__________________

__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 242014 - 422015 - 56Jul 2016 - Fulltime
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.